Chemistry

Current Duke students, faculty, and staff have access to electronic library materials from off-campus.

Most databases, eBooks, and other electronic resources use EZproxy authentication. Some databases require the use of a VPN. The VPN may also work in cases when EZproxy does not.

EZproxy

1. Start at the All, Catalog, Databases, or Online Journal Titles page, or follow a link.
2. A pop-up window will ask for your NetID and password. Once logged in, you will be able to access any library resources online for the rest of your browser session.

VPN

1. Go to OIT's VPN page for software installation.
2. When logging in, select Library Resources Only in the 'Group' and sign in with your NetID and password.
   
   * Multi-factor Authentication (MFA) is required.

For more information, see Off-Campus Access to E-Resources.

LibKey is a browser extension that provides full-text access to scholarly publications via your institution.

1. Go to thirdiron.com/downloadnomad
2. Select your preferred browser and download
3. After installation, LibKey Nomad prompts you to select your institution. Simply select it and LibKey Nomad will then notify you of available articles wherever you may roam. Look for the following icon for immediate PDF access:
4. LibKey is also integrated with scholarly databases, such as Web of Science, Pubmed, and Scopus. It provides quick access to full-text without having to navigate to the article's homepage to find the PDF.

Did you know you can link Google Scholar with Duke University Libraries?

1. Go to Google Scholar
2. Click the hamburger menu (☰) in the upper left corner of the screen
3. Click Settings then Library links
4. Type Duke and select the following links:

5. Now when you search in Google Scholar, the results will link back to the Duke University Libraries catalog (Get it @ Duke) and provide full-text access where applicable.

A quick way to determine if a resource is accessible via Duke Libraries is to use our Library Access Button Bookmarklet. It is a proxy bookmarklet, meaning whenever you find a resource you're interested in online, simply click the Library Access button in your browser's bookmark menu, and it will connect to our catalog and let you know if we subscribe to it.

How to Install

Firefox

Drag this link to the bookmarks toolbar:
Library Access Button for Firefox

Google Chrome

Drag this link to the bookmarks toolbar:
Library Access Button for Chrome

Safari

Drag this link to your bookmarks toolbar:
Library Access Button for Safari

Microsoft Edge

Drag this link to the Favorites toolbar:
Library Access Button for Microsoft Edge

iPhone and iPad

In iPad, iPhone or iPod Touch, copy this line of text:

javascript:void(location.href=%22https://login.proxy.lib.duke.edu/login?url=%22+location.href)

Source: library.duke.edu/research/library-access-button.