LibGuides: Writing 101: Latinx Literature and Culture: Find Articles on your Topics

Need Help?

Key Databases (academic and newspaper articles)

This page highlights a few important databases, please look at the full list of databases:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines from 1959 to present
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles in Spanish-language newspapers published in the U.S. Date coverage from 1808 to 1980
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexican border, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles mostly written in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of articles major Latin American newspapers and major international newswires
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of articles major Hispanic-American newspapers and newswires
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.

More Databases by discipline- contain articles, book reviews, book chapters, and more

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, reports and conference proceedings for many subjects
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles that cover film & television theory and the technical aspects of film
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference works in diverse subjects
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and other aspects of literary studies
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from thousands of scholarly journals
SciELO Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published in open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. This is an open access database.