Writing 101: Latinx Literature and Culture

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, primary sources, data, and more. Each citation is followed by a brief descriptive and evaluative paragraph (= the annotation). The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. Basically, an annotated bibliography is a list of recommended readings on a topic, and it can be a good starting point for your research.

Example from Oxford Bibliographies: Latino Studies

COMICS

Aldama, Frederick Luis. Your Brain on Latino Comics: From Gus Arriola to Los Bros Hernandez. Cognitive Approaches to Literature and Culture. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2009.

• Aldama provides a historical context for the representation of Latinos and Latinas in mainstream and alternative comics, a theoretical model for approaching Latino comics, and interviews with the practitioners of Latino comics in the early 21st century.

Look up facts and background information; encyclopedia entries are written by experts.

• Oxford Handbook of Latino Studies
• Keywords for Latino Studies
• The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature
• The Routledge Companion to Latina/o Literature
• Latin American Cinema: a Comparative History
• Routledge Companion to Latin American Cinema
• ABC-Clio Contains books such as Latino Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook  (2004) and Racial and Ethnic Diversity in America: A Reference Handbook (2003) .
• Oxford Reference Online Contains The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States .
• Blackwell Reference Online  Contains Race and Ethnicity Studies and A Companion to Latina/o Studies
• Gale Virtual Reference Library Contains Encyclopedia of Race and Racism and International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.

CONSULT GUIDES ON ;

• ARTS & VISUAL STUDIES (FILM)
• LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES
• LATINO/A/X STUDIES
• WOMEN'S STUDIES
• BUSINESS (ADVERTISING)