LibGuides: Writing 101: Performing Disability: Finding Films and Music

Best Bet for Finding Films at Duke

Film Exercise

Exercise #1: Searching for a Film in the Duke Libraries Catalog:

Using the search interface for Film & Video, look for your film in the library catalog.
Is it available as a DVD? Where do you check out a DVD at Lilly? How would you watch it?
Is it available in a streaming version? How do you watch it?
What do you do if your film doesn’t seem to be available at Duke?

Finding Music

Metropolitan Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
View streaming performances from 575 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Browse an online collection of classical music, operas and ballets
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Find and watch streaming videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Find audio and video spanning all time periods from hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles

Finding Films

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Find and view streaming video. Includes thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures provides online streaming access via their Digital Campus platform to movies from major motion picture studios. Titles are available for online streaming when requested by an instructor for use in a course and are available to Duke users for a limited time specified in the database.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Find audio and video spanning all time periods from hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles
Disability In The Modern World This link opens in a new window
Search for primary and secondary sources on topics related to disability studies. Includes archival material, video, and more.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Find and watch streaming video of documentary and social issues films

Finding Plays

Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Find and stream video of definitive performances of the world’s most important plays beginning in the 1930s and progressing through the 20th century
BroadwayHD Collection This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of recorded live theater plays and musicals. Includes 25 performances from the New York theater scene
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Find audio and video spanning all time periods from hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles
Play Index This link opens in a new window
Search for plays written from Antiquity to the present
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Contains plays from the earliest Greek works through the present day, in text, video, and audio formats. Includes background and contextual works on playwrights, theater movements, genres, practitioners and periods, as well as scholarly monographs, dictionary content, and practical books on acting and stage craft.
Duke has access to the following modules:
--Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection
--Core Collection
--Critical Studies and Performance Practice
--The Hollow Crown
--National Theatre Collection 1, 2, 3
--Nick Hern Books Modern Plays
--Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) Live Collection
--Shakespeare Video Collection
--Shakespeare's Globe on Screen
--Shakespeare’s Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1 & 2
--Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection
--Theatre Communications Group (TCG) Books Play Collection

Writing 101: Performing Disability: Finding Films and Music

Best Bet for Finding Films at Duke

Film Exercise

Finding Music

Finding Films

Finding Plays

Contact Us

Services for...