LibGuides: Writing 101: Performing Disability: Finding Articles

Finding Reviews

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search articles on film and theater. Good source for reviews.

MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
Links to reviews from a wide variety of news sources.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles that cover film & television theory and the technical aspects of film. Good source for reviews.

Rotten Tomatoes
Ratings and links to film reviews from a variety of news sources.
IMDb
Source for movie information and descriptions, as well as links to major reviews.

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and reviews focusing on music.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search national and international news sources.

Finding a subject-specific database

The library subscribes to hundreds of specialized databases on subject areas ranging from engineering to art history. Here's how to begin using subject-specific databases:

Finding Specific Articles, Journals, and Databases

Find the full text of a specific article by using the library's Articles search.
Find specific journals by title (ex. Social Science & Medicine) using the Online Journal Titles page.
Find specific research databases (ex. Pubmed) using the Research Databases page.

Can't find the article? Request articles that Duke doesn't own using interlibrary requests.

Finding Biographies

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Search a range of encyclopedias covering theater, dance, music, and film.

Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text biographies
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Search for biographical information on historic figures

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedia entries on music.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Search for encyclopedic entries related to artists and works of art

Finding News Sources

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and news coverage for many subjects
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search news sources around the world.

New York Times

Finding Articles

Disability In The Modern World This link opens in a new window
Search for primary and secondary sources on topics related to disability studies. Includes archival material, video, and more.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles that cover film & television theory and the technical aspects of film
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search articles on dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, and performance business, mostly from 1998 onwards
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles, books, dissertations, and performance reviews in music from 1800s to present
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on a wide variety of musical periods and styles
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and interviews related to rock music
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and other aspects of literary studies
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies to find scholarly articles and books. Search "disability" to find resources from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Search for magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings in art and architecture
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and exhibition catalogs in 19th- 20th- and 21st century art, especially in photography and performance art
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities, fine arts, and performance arts