Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Statistics and Numeric Data
Adolescent Health (ADD Health)
The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. The Add Health cohort has been followed into young adulthood with four in-home interviews, the most recent in 2008, when the sample was aged 24-32. Add Health is re-interviewing cohort members in a Wave V follow-up from 2016-2018.
- General Social Survey (GSSDIRS)
The GSSDIRS website provides online access to the General Social Survey conducted by NORC. The online interface provides data from 1972-2000. See also http://sda.berkeley.edu:7502/cgi-bin/hsda?harcsda+gss02 for another interface to the GSS.
- Data and Visualization Services at Duke
Duke's data and GIS collection covers a wide range of topics such as: business trends, education, statistics, healthcare, labor statistics, political behavior, and a full range of demographic information.
- ICPSR Data Archive
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, is a membership-based organization which collects data from individual researchers, polling agencies, and governmental and international agencies. Its purpose is to maximize the availability and utilization of data resources by obtaining data and the technical documentation needed to access them for redistribution to its membership. Duke University's membership in ICPSR allows all Duke researchers to use ICPSR resources free of charge.
- American National Election Studies
The ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in presidential and midterm election years and carries out research and development work through pilot studies in odd-numbered years. The NES time-series now encompasses 26 election studies spanning over five decades. The longevity of the NES time-series greatly enhances the utility of the data, since measures can be pooled over time, and both long-term trends and the political impact of historical events can be identified. Registration required.
Data and Statistics
Primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
- FedStats "FedStats provides access to the statistics found in the publications of more than 70 United States federal government agencies. Searches on FedStats provide direct links to federal agency statistical publications in both full-text and tabular format."
- Historical Statistics of the United States "The Millennial Edition is the definitive source of statistics and data about the United States and is a key resource for American history research from Colonial times to the present."
Potential Datasets for Assignments and Final Project
- dex.jsp norc.uchicago.edu/GSS+Website/
Statistics and Numeric Data
- National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1997
"The NLSY97 consists of a nationally representative sample of approximately 9,000 youths who were 12 to 16 years old as of December 31, 1996. Round 1 of the survey took place in 1997. In that round, both the eligible youth and one of that youth's parents received hour-long personal interviews. In addition, during the screening process, an extensive two-part questionnaire was administered that listed and gathered demographic information on members of the youth's household and on his or her immediate family members living elsewhere. Youths are interviewed on an annual basis." -- From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website
Search for data from polls conducted by many leading survey research organizations. NOTE: Users must register for a personal account. Previous login credentials will not provide access to Roper iPoll. A new account will be required.
Search for health and social science datasets from nine topically focused data archives
Create maps using United States demographic data going back to 1790
Develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.