Chinese Americans

North Carolina

• DigitalNC : North Carolina's digital heritage
  • Provides photographs, digital content, and full-text newspapers from North Carolina. Try search terms "Chinese" and "Chinese American" for relevant results.
• Documenting the American South : primary resources for the study of Southern history, literature and culture

Library of Congress

• The Chinese in California, 1850-1925
  • ​"The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials."
• Immigration - Chinese
  • This resource presents a basic history of Chinese communities in the United States, along with links to archival footage, photograph collections, and other primary sources.
• American Memory Timeline: Chinese Immigration to the United States, 1851-1900
  • This resource also gives some basic history of American interactions with Chinese people 1851-1900, with links to first-hand accounts.

National Archive

• 100 Milestone Documents - The Chinese Exclusion Act (1882)
  • Images, transcripts and some contextual information for the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882.
• An Alleged Wife: One Immigrant in the Chinese Exclusion Era (Prologue Magazine, Spring 2004)
  • This articles recounts the legal process one Chinese couple went through to immigrate to the US during the Chinese Exclusion Era.
• Letters from the Middle Kingdom: The Origins of America's China Policy (Prologue Magazine, Winter 2002)
  • "In 1834 John Shillaber, a would-be consul to China, writes his observations on the U.S. role in China."

Other Institutions

• Stanford University: Chinese Railroad Workers in North America 
  • Includes multimedia and artistic interpretations, archeological information, digital visualizations and other resources on Chinese railroad workers.
• UC Berkeley: Asian American Studies Collections
  Links to a variety of archival collections and online exhibits related to Chinese and Asian studies
• California Digital Library (University of California): California Cultures: Asian Americans
  Essays, lesson plans, and virtual exhibits related to Asian Americans in California.
• Ancestors in the Americas: Chinese American History Timeline
• University of Southern California: The Chinese Historical Society Collection of Southern California
  This collection "documents artifacts systematically excavated from two sites in Southern California. The first site is represented by about 1,040 color images of artifacts from the original Los Angeles Chinatown; an additional 150 images document artifacts from the site of a Chinese laundry in Santa Barbara."
• Ohio University: Overseas Chinese Databases
  This resources links to a number of historical, literary, newspaper and image databases about Overseas Chinese people (including the United States, Canada, Australia and Southeast Asia.
• University of British Columbia: Chinese Canadian Stories
  It is a portal website for Chinese Canadian history that is multilingual with English and Chinese resources. It is a digital archive that deposits and preserves digital material created and serves in a searchable database.

• Houston Asian American Archive Oral Histories 

  A collection of oral histories of Asian Americans in Houston.
• Asian American Art Oral History Project 

  Focuses mainly on Asian Americans in the Midwest.
• UCLA Center for Oral History Research: Asian American History 

  UCLA has collected oral histories of Asian Americans, including Korean Americans and South Asian Americans.
• SouthernMix 

  A collection of voices from Asians and Asian Americans in the South.
• Southern Oral History Program 

  Since 1973, the Southern Oral History Program has worked to preserve the voices of the southern past. Can browse by "interviewee ethnicity."
• Chinese American Oral History Project 

  Cal State LA has collected oral histories of Chinese Americans in Southern California.
• Chinese Laundries in Massachusetts Oral History Project 

  The Institute for Asian American Studies (IAAS), in partnership with the Chinese Historical Society of New England, has been interviewing Chinese Americans who owned, or whose parents owned, a laundry in Massachusetts.
• Chinese-American Women Oral History Project 

  The project documents the life stories of over 20 women who immigrated to the United States prior to 1965.

Chinese in the U.S. Fact Sheet from the Pew Research Center

Asian American Data Links from the United States Census Bureau 

National Asian American Survey

Socioeconomic Statistics and Demographics from Asian Nation