Chinese Americans

To find a book at Duke or beyond, try the following subject term searches in the Duke University Catalog, TRLN Catalog, or Worldcat:

• Chinese Americans
• Chinese Americans -- Biography
• Chinese Americans -- History
• Chinese Americans -- Fiction
• Chinese Americans -- Ethnic identity
• Chinese Americans -- Social conditions

Reference Works

• The encyclopedia of the Chinese overseas (print)
• Atlas of Asian-American history (print)
• The Asian American encyclopedia (print)
• Asian American history and culture : an encyclopedia (online)
• Encyclopedia of Modern China (online)
• The Cambridge History of China (Vol. 14): The People's Republic, Part 1: The Emergence of Revolutionary China, 1949-1965 (online)
• The Cambridge History of China (Vol. 15): The People's Republic, Part 2: Revolutions within the Chinese Revolution, 1966-1982 (online)
• Brill's encyclopedia of China (online)
• Berkshire encyclopedia of China (online)

Some highlights:

• Chineseness across borders: renegotiating Chinese identities in China and the United States
• Chinatown in Britain : diffusions and concentrations of the British New Wave Chinese immigration
• Chinese immigration and the Chinese in the United States: records in the Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (online)
• Contemporary Chinese America: immigration, ethnicity, and community transformation
• Chinese migrants in Russia, Central Asia and Eastern Europe

See a comprehensive listing of Asian American Studies databases, some places to get started:

• Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary)
• MLA Intl Bibliography (Literature)
• America: History and Life (History, U.S. and Canada)
• Historical Abstracts (History, all countries except U.S. and Canada)​
• SocINDEX with Full Text (Sociology)
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• China academic journals(in simplified Chinese)
• Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (in traditional Chinese)

Some journals in this field

• Chinese American Forum
• East/West: the Chinese-American Journal
• Chinese America: History & Perspectics
• Journal of Asian American Studies
• Asian American Literature Discourse & Pedagogies
• Amerasia Journal
• A. Magazine : The Asian American Quarterly
• Asian American Policy Review
• Asian American Law journal