Skip to main content

Frank Clyde Brown Recordings

A guide to the digital collection.

Searching the digital collection

The recordings in the Frank Clyde Brown Recordings Digital Collection are structured to reflect the dual relationship inherent in the recording media; that is, as whole wax cylinders or phonodiscs containing multiple tracks, and as individual tracks on cylinders and phonodiscs.  A song page therefore contains the digital content for that specific piece of audio as well as a link to its "parent" cylinder or phonodisc page, while a cylinder or phonodisc page contains the entire audio program as one piece along with links to its "children" as individual tracks (and, in the case of phonodiscs, a link to the disc's other side). 

Searching.  Users can search, browse, and filter the collection in several ways

  • Note: The default browse order is by date then alphabetical by title.
  • If you are searching for a specific title, use the Search box at the top of the page. Select "This Collection" to return all resources within the collection.  For instance, a search on "Barbara Allen" returns all song or cylinder/phonodisc pages containing "Barbara Allen" in the Frank Clyde Brown Digital Collection.
  • Use the "Limit your search" panel on the left side of the page.  This will allow you to filter either the entire collection or your search results, based on date, format, location, and creator (performer).

Access to the collection via the collection guide

The collection guide, or finding aid, for the Frank Clyde Brown Papers at the Rubenstein Library contains description of the recordings as well as of Brown's papers, including voluminous correspondence and much of the documentation surrounding the editing of the Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore.  Song titles may be searched in the finding aid using the search box provided at the top of the page, or by using the common "find" key sequence (Ctrl+F), and links are provided to the related digital recordings of the wax cylinders or disc sides found in the digital collection.