Soviet and Post-Soviet Economic History: Articles

Duke University Libraries subscribes to a large number of scholarly research databases specifically devoted to Business or Economics. Some selections include:

• EconLit with Full Text
  Search scholarly literature (peer-reviewed journal articles) in the field of economics
• ABI/INFORM Collection
  Search for journal articles, trade journals and market research reports with business and economic information
• Business Source Complete
  Search for articles on management, finance, economics, industry, accounting, and international business from popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications.

• Database of Russian and CIS Statistical Publications (1990-present)
  full-texts of publications from the major Russian statistics agency Goskomstat Rossii and its regional statistics agencies, Statkomitet SNG, and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Includes both English and bilingual publications such as
  • Current Statistical Survey (1996-present)
  • Russia in Figures (1996-2017) 
  • Russian Statistical Yearbook: Rossiiskii statisticheskii ezhegodnik (1996-2020)
  • Kratkosrochnye ekonomicheskie pokazateli Rossiiskoi Federatsii. Short-term economic indicators of the Russian federation (1997-present)
  • Demograficheskii ezhegodnik Rossii. The Demographic Yearbook of Russia (1996-2019)
  • 2002 All-Russian Census (14 vols.)
• American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1985-present)
  Citation database for books, book chapters, book reviews, scholarly articles, and dissertations on Slavic, East European, and Eurasian studies published in North America.

• JSTOR
  access full runs of several leading English-language journals, such as Slavic Review and Russian Review. For best results, conduct an "advanced search" and use the "journal filter" to narrow results by "Slavic Studies" and "Economics."
• ProQuest Research Library
  provides access to an extensive collection of journals, newspapers, and magazines. Date Coverage: Indexing: 1971-present; full-text: 1991-present; image: 1987-present.
• IBZ Online
  international and interdisciplinary bibliography that documents academic periodical literature in the humanities and social sciences. Publications from 40 countries in more than 40 languages are taken into consideration.
• Historical Abstracts
  Find journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
• PAIS Index
  This link opens in a new window
   
  Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
• Political Science Complete
  Search for journal articles in political science and public policy

Database of Central Russian Newspapers (1995-present), full-text database of over 40 newspapers from Russia, including the following (current and historical) business newspapers:

• Finansovaia gazeta
• Ekonomika i zhizn'
• Ezhednevnaia delovaia gazeta RBK
• Kommersant"
• Kommersant". Den'gi
• Vedomosti
• Finansovye Izvestiia (1998-2003)
• NG. Politekonomiia (1997-2001)
• Vremia novostei (2001-2010)

Search Tips

• Use cross-search functionality to conduct a search under "Selected Publications" for keywords: e.g   "prices" (tseny) AND "oil" (neft')
• Narrow results by adding additional terms, eg. "stock market" (fondovyi rynok OR fonodovaia birzha)