Skip to main content

Story+ at the Rubenstein

(Almost) everything you need to know about doing research at the Rubenstein Library

What are collection guides?

  • Collection guides describe and outline the contents of collections of papers or records held by the Rubenstein Library.
  • Archival collections are (usually) organized by the person, organization, or business who created the materials, not by subject, time, or place. Rubenstein Library archivists create collection guides to provide in-depth information about a collection, making it easier for you to find relevant material. Including:
    • Background information on the creator of the collection
    • An inventory of the collection's contents
    • Restrictions on accessing and using the collection. Most of our collections are open to anyway, but some require special permission.

Navigating a Collection Guide to Find What You Need

  • The Summary and Collection Overview will give you background on who created this collection and what types of material you’ll find in there
  • Collection guides don’t list every individual document in a collection. What you see listed is a description of what the documents in a folder are about
  • Large collections are organized in to series, which are larger sections of related material.
  • You won’t know exactly what or how much material is in a folder until you actually see it - it could be one document or it could be many
  • If there’s a keyword you’re looking for, use Ctrl+F on your keyboard or the “Search this Collection” box in the top right to search the text of the finding aid quickly
  • Take note of which boxes the files you want to see are in, you’ll need these when you request them