LibGuides: Writing 101: Gender & Sexuality in Latin American Film: Find Articles

Latin American Research Guide

Duke Libraries Guide to resources in Latin American & Caribbean Studies provides a rich array of resources!

Highlighted Film Journal

Studies in Spanish & Latin American Cinemas was previously published as Studies in Hispanic Cinemas.

Publisher: Intellect

Need Help?

Stuck? Ask a Librarian!

Scholarly Databases - contain articles, book reviews, book chapters, and more

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles that cover film & television theory and the technical aspects of film
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and other aspects of literary studies
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from thousands of scholarly journals
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for publications related to film studies and find filmographies from the AFI Catalog, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals, and Film Index International databases.

Scholarly Databases with Spanish language emphasis

Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published in Latin American journals in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences. This is an open access database.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1960s to the present, including books, articles, maps, e-resources, and more.

Classic Mexican Cinema This link opens in a new window
Search Mexican cinema journals for reviews, movie stills, programs, and advertisements
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles mostly written in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Contains information about Latin American history, bibliographies of Latin American authors, artists and art movements.
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin
SciELO Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published in open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. This is an open access database.

Newspapers - U.S. and Latin America

For major U.S. newspaper articles go to the database Access World News.

Access World News Research Collection 2023 Edition This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection: 2023 Edition provides access to more than 13,800 sources from over 200 countries and territories. It includes “America’s News” that you can search by clicking “Map Search” - “North America” - “USA.”
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.

You can find a list of Latin American newspapers here.

LANIC - listing of newspapers & news from the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)

Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of articles major Latin American newspapers and major international newswires

Writing 101: Gender & Sexuality in Latin American Film