Danette's Guide for Film & Video Resources in the Libraries
Most films are discoverable in our online catalog -- you can search by title, director (considered an author), cinematographer (also considered an Author), actor (you guessed it--considered at Author), etc. You can also browse directly in the streaming video platforms that the Libraries subscribe to -- check out the box below!
Start a search limited to films here.
If the movie you need is not streaming, the Libraries loan external drives that you can borrow to watch DVDs.
Browse a collection of streaming feature and documentary films from Spain, France, other European and eastern European countries, North American Classic films, and Latin American films from many Latin American countries including Mexico, Argentina, Chile, and Brazil. Not all films include English subtitles.
Find and view streaming video. Includes thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines
Swank Motion Pictures provides online streaming access via their Digital Campus platform to movies from major motion picture studios. Titles are available for online streaming when requested by an instructor for use in a course and are available to Duke users for a limited time specified in the database.
Find and watch streaming video titles across multiple Alexander Street/Proquest collections on diverse topics and formats that include feature films, newsreels, documentaries, field recordings, interviews and lectures. Producers include Sony Picture Classics, CNN, PBS, BBC Worldwide and the Royal Shakespeare Company. Some individual collections from Alexander Street/Proquest are also listed below, for example, Asian Film Online, Black Studies in Video, Dance in Video, etc.
This unique collection includes the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and contemporary films from around the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, and North America. Titles in this collection can be searched through Films on Demand Master Academic portal.
Projectr presents a curated and ever-expanding collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, award-winning documentaries and artist-made works from around the world. Distributors include Grasshopper Film, Women Make Movies, Distrib Films, MTV Documentary Films, and Canyon Cinema.
