Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Databases for Articles and Music Reviews
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Music Database. Indexes a variety of scholarly resources, including music journals, books, and dissertations. Provides good international coverage. Many articles in this database do not include pdfs of the articles, but links to full text are often available using the Get it @ Duke button.
IIMP Full Text (International Index to Music Periodicals)
Music Database. Indexes both scholarly and popular music journals and magazines covering a wide variety of musical periods and styles. Full text is provided for most articles.
Interdisciplinary Database. Provides access to back issues of core scholarly journals in music and other disciplines. For more recent journal issues, consult Project Muse.
Interdisciplinary Database. Digital access to scholarly journals and books. Provides more recent coverage of the same journals as JSTOR.
RIPM : retrospective index to music periodicals
Music Database. Digitized full text of 19th and early 20th-century music journals. Journals covered are listed both chronologically and by region on the RIPM website: http://www.ripm.org
Wikisource: Zeitschriften (Musik)
Digital copies of music journals, coverage for 18th through 20th centuries
Primary citation index for articles on 19th- 20th- and 21st century art.
IIPA Full Text (International Index to Performing Arts
Excellent source for film analysis and criticism; indexes scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals.
Periodicals archive online
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
DigiZeitschriften [electronic resource] : das deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv.
Provides full-text access to some German journals and annuals, often covering them in their entirety. Some start in the 1800s. Subjects include literature, history, art, religion, music, law and the sciences.
Expert Tips for Finding Articles:
- Use "and," "or," and "not" to connect combinations of keywords to narrow or expand your results.
- You can use a Truncation Symbol (usually *) to allow for variation in the ending of a word. Example: Sing* will pick up Singers, Singing, etc.
- You can use a Wildcard (usually # or ?) to replace letters in words that you know will be subject to variation. Example: Wom?n will pick up Woman or Women.
- Put a phrase like "Weimar Republic" in quotation marks to search for these words together as a phrase.
- Specify where you want the database to search, such as in the Abstract of the articles, for more focused results
- Many database have subject vocabularies you can use to select the terminology and subject groupings applied to records in that database
- You can filter a search to limit your results to scholarly articles, to exclude reviews, and to generally refine your results in various ways.
- Many database provide full text, but if not, click on the Get it @ Duke button to search for full text in other databases at Duke.
- If your article is not available in electronic full text, you have a couple of other good options for getting full text. The LSC (Duke's offsite storage) has print copies of many bound periodicals--they will produce a pdf of an article you need. If the journal is not at Duke, you can request it on Interlibrary Loan--ILL will find another university that has the journal and they will send you a pdf. LSC and ILL article requests can be made through the ILL/Document Delivery website.