Skip to main content

The Caribbean at Duke: Exploring Archives: Microfilm Collections

Microfilm Collections at Duke

There are several microfilm collections appropriate to our course that are owned by the Duke Libraries. These include,

18th and 19th Century

Africans in the New World, 1493-1834: from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University.  

Despatches from United States ministers to Spain, 1792-1906. U.S. Department of State.

Journals of the Assembly of Jamaica: 1663-1826.  

Le moniteur haïtien (Newspaper 1845-1851).  

Notes from the Mexican legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1821-1906.   

Papers of James Redpath (Haiti and D.R. 1861).  

Plantation life in the Caribbean. Pt. 1, Jamaica, c. 1765-1848: the Taylor and Vanneck-Arcedeckne papers from Cambridge University Library and the Institute of Commonwealth Studies, University of London

Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1911.  

 20th and 21st Century

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records: Central America: 1930-1945.   

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Nicaragua, 1930-1959.

The Cuban connection: a potpourri of revolutionary ephemera, 1957-1978.  From the collection of the Yale University Libraries

Haiti Progres (newspaper 1987- 2000).   

Immigration during the Carter administration: records of the Cuban-Haitian task force. 1980

Latin American Anarchist & Labour Periodicals. 1880-1940.

Methodist Episcopal Church Board correspondence, 1884-1915. Latin American & Caribbean reels are 78-86.

Missionary files 1912-1949: United Methodist Church Archives. Latin America reels 229-311

Princeton University Library Latin American Microfilm Collection. See online guides to this collection.

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to internal affairs of Colombia, 1960-1963 

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and Latin America and the Caribbean states, 1930-1944.

Robert Jackson Alexander Papers, 1945-1999: the Interview Collection.

Each  of these microfilm collections comes with a guide that outlines the contents. Some guides are printed and others are on the first reel of the microfilm set. The printed guides can be found on the first floor of Bostock Library in a bookcase behind the Help Desk.

 


Bostock Help Desk

 

Microfilm Collections at Other Institutions

Search the catalog of the Triangle Research Libraries Network to discover microfilm collections held at local libraries. The UNC collection is rich on Caribbean resources. Limit your search by FORMAT to microforms and then limit by SUBJECT to a particular country and to a particular library.

The Duke Libraries is a member of the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago. This means that Duke students/faculty have borrowing privledges for their extensive microfilm collection. Search their catalog. They have a rich collection of newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean.

Subject Guide

Holly Ackerman's picture
Holly Ackerman
Contact:
Room 228 Bostock
Box 90195
Duke University Libraries
Durham, NC 27708
919-6605845