Skip to main content

The Caribbean at Duke: Exploring Archives: Digital Libraries

Digital Libraries

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
This virtual library of the Biblioteca Nacional de España provides digital access to thousands of books printed before the 20th century, manuscripts, prints, drawings, pamphlets, posters, photographs, maps, and other materials.


Biblioteca Nacional Digital Brasil
The components of this virtual library from Brazil's Biblioteca Nacional provide digital access to rare books, periodicals, manuscripts, drawings, maps and other materials. 


Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Includes thousands of classical texts from Spain and Latin America in digital format. Also links to publishers, libraries, archives, and many other resources.


Digital Library of the Caribbean
dLOC is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. It provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.  

Europeana  - Heritage collections from Europe

European Library 48 National libraries and other major research libraries in Europe

Gallica - Digital site of the National Library of France.

Hathi Trust - A preservation site for digital projects.

Internet Archive - A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.

Latin American Open Archives Portal
Provides access to social sciences grey literature (working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials typically published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers) produced in Latin America.


Memória - Biblioteca Nacional Digital, Portugal
Full-text access to fundamental Portuguese texts related to art, science, law, education, history, language, literature, music, and other areas.

Memoria Chilena. Biblioteca Nacional Digital de Chile
Serves both as a portal to cultural and historical information about Chile as well as a digital library providing access to numerous rare books, photographs, manuscripts, maps, and other types of documentation. 


Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe de la red CLACSO
The components of this virtual library are a rich source of e-publications, citations, and other research information from the Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales.

Subject Guide

Holly Ackerman's picture
Holly Ackerman
Contact:
Room 228 Bostock
Box 90195
Duke University Libraries
Durham, NC 27708
919-6605845