Women and Advertising: Women in Advertisements

This collection of primarily advertising and marketing material is especially rich in print advertisements for Eastman Kodak product. A large percentage of the advertisements include images of women taking photographs or working with the various apparatus used in photography. A substantial number of advertisements dated prior to 1923 may be viewed on-line in the Ad*Access Digital Collection.

This is a collection of highly focused subject files consisting of clippings on marketing-related topics under the broad categories Administration, Advertising, Marketing, and Sales. Women are represented throughout the collection under such headings as "Ethnics and Women Board Members," "Women in Management," "Women/Children/Models/Elderly in Copy/Commercials," "Women in Marketing," "Women in Communications," "Women's Market," and "Women in Selling."

In 1971, Liggett and Myers introduced Eve Cigarettes as competition for rival Philip Morris Corporation’s Virginia Slims brand, which targeted the women’s market. In addition to advertisements for Eve, Eve Light (1980s), and other L & M cigarette brands, the collection contains advertisements from the 1970s for many competing brands, including Virginia Slims.

The Ad*Access digital collection consists of print advertisements from the Competitive Advertisements Collection in of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Many of these ads feature women selling products, or products designed specifically for women, particularly in the "Beauty and Hygiene" category.