Bates Worldwide Records, 1934–2003
Includes print proof books and artwork that document advertising campaigns for clients such as Miller Brewing Co., Footlocker, Carter-Wallace (Arrid, Trojan), Burroughs-Wellcome (Zovirax), Hyundai North America, M&M/Mars and Wendy's International. In addition, a collection of proofs and tearsheets from the 1990s comprise entries from various regional and international offices and subsidiaries to a corporation-wide creative competition program.
Brouilliard Communications, Inc. Vertical Files, ca. [1973]–2000
Collection consists primarily of corporate image advertisements clipped from magazines and newspapers, including trade journals and business newspapers. Organized into two series of alphabetical files: by industry and by company name. Major industry categories represented include computers, fashion accessories, liquor, insurance, mutual funds, and telecommunications. Major companies include AT&T, Du Pont, General Electric, IBM, Kodak, RJR Nabisco, and Xerox; most companies represented were clients or prospective clients. Also includes advertising tearsheets, articles, and unpublished reports about major corporations or industries.
J. Walter Thompson Company Archives — Domestic Advertisements Collection, 1875–2001 and undated
The Domestic Advertisements Collection consists of print advertisements created by U.S. offices of the J. Walter Thompson Company (JWT). The bulk of the collection dates from the 1920s and after, but a few examples are available from as early as 1875. Notable clients include Andrew Jergens (1915–1935), Chesebrough-Ponds (1884–1969,1992–1994), Eastman Kodak (1930s–1990s), Ford (1940s–2000s), Kraft (1930s–1990s), Lever Bros. (1900–1991), Kellogg's (1938–1993), Seven-Up (1942–1978), Warner Lambert (1915–1997), plus many others.
Jean Kilbourne Papers, 1918-2014 and undated
Media critic, feminist author and documentary filmmaker based in Massachusetts. Collection spans 1918-2014 and includes: clippings; tear sheets; correspondence; research reports and other printed materials; slides and slide presentation texts; audiovisual materials in multiple formats including 8mm and 16mm films, audio and video cassettes; book drafts and research files used for teaching and production of Kilbourne’s books and films.
Leonard Sirowitz papers, 1947-2008 and undated
Art Director and advertising executive at Doyle Dane Bernbach and partner in several independent agencies. Includes clippings, proofs of print advertisements, video cassettes of television commercials, photographs and slidIncludes clippings, proofs of print advertisements, video cassettes of television commercials, photographs and slides, writings, texts of speeches; award certificates, ces, writings, texts of speeches; award certificates, correspondence and other printed materials relating to Sirowitz's career at Doyle Dane Bernbach and independent agencies co-founded with Ron Rosenfeld and Marion Harper. Companies represented include Bain de Soleil, Better Vision Institute, Champion International, El Al Airlines, Mobil, Sony, Volkswagen and Yugo.
Lightner Collection of Antique Advertisements, 1871–2009 and undated
This collection consists of print advertisements taken from U.S. magazines. Ads from more than 300 companies are included and some materials represent advertising campaigns on which Lightner worked at the Ayer agency. Among the most heavily represented companies are American Telephone & Telegraph (AT&T) (1910s–1970s), Eastman Kodak (1890s–1970s), and Campbell Soup (1900s–1970s). Other companies and products, including Metropolitan Life Insurance, Kraft, Ivory Soap, and Coca Cola, are frequently seen in the collection. In addition, many ads for various railroad companies and automobiles, reflecting Lightner's interest in these areas, are included from various U.S. magazines, all for U.S manufacturers.
Paula Green papers, 1940-2013 and undated
Collection includes correspondence, photographs, slides, audiovisual materials in multiple formats (VHS and Umatic videocassettes; audio cassettes; phono records; optical discs, audio and video tape reels, 16mm film), market research reports and financial reports, print advertisements, storyboards, musical scores, cookbooks and other printed materials. Companies represented in the collection include American Cancer Society, Burlington Industries, CBS radio, Chemstrand, Doyle Dane Bernbach, General Foods, Goya Foods, Hathaway shirts, Heinz, International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union, Green Dolmatch, L.C. Gumbinner, New York Times, Paula Green Advertising, Quaker Oats, Seventeen Magazine, Sterling National Bank, Subaru, and the U.S. Public Health Service. Materials cover commercial products and advocacy campaigns for breast cancer awareness and prevention, tobacco use and anti-smoking programs. Most materials are in English; however some items exist in French, Italian, Japanese and Spanish.
