Advertising Ephemera Collection, ca. 1860–1999
The Advertising Ephemera Collection is composed of single advertisements, product and trade catalogs, advertising pamphlets, and broadsides. The advertisements are primarily American and from the late 19th and early to mid 20th century. The collection is divided into broad subject categories, based on the primary type of product or service being advertised, which are arranged in alphabetical order.
Gary P. and Sandra G. Baden Collection of Print Advertisements, 1840-1986 and undated
Collection spans 1840-1986 and includes magazine and newspaper clippings of advertisements, tear sheets, catalogs, ephemera, memorabilia, and other printed material primarily from the United states, Great Britain, and France. Topics covered include transportation, automobiles, tires, airlines, foods, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, tobacco products (mostly cigarettes), fashion, clothing, jewelry, watches, cosmetics, hotels, household products, corporations, movies, and tourism. Items contain content in English, French, Greek, and Spanish. Companies represented include Ford, Packard, Chrysler, Chevrolet, Coca Cola, TWA, Henri Bendel, Goodyear, and DeBeers. Additional items of note include sheet music from the vaudeville, ragtime, and minstrel era; advertisements and articles from World War I; and depictions of African Americans, Native American, and other ethnicities in advertisements. Acquired as part of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History.
J. Walter Thompson Company Archives — Domestic Advertisements Collection, 1875–2001 and undated
The Domestic Advertisements Collection consists of print advertisements created by U.S. offices of the J. Walter Thompson Company (JWT). The bulk of the collection dates from the 1920s and after, but a few examples are available from as early as 1875. Notable clients include Andrew Jergens (1915–1935), Chesebrough-Ponds (1884–1969,1992–1994), Eastman Kodak (1930s–1990s), Ford (1940s–2000s), Kraft (1930s–1990s), Lever Bros. (1900–1991), Kellogg's (1938–1993), Seven-Up (1942–1978), Warner Lambert (1915–1997), plus many others.
Lightner Collection of Antique Advertisements, 1871–2009 and undated
This collection consists of print advertisements taken from U.S. magazines. Ads from more than 300 companies are included and some materials represent advertising campaigns on which Lightner worked at the Ayer agency. Among the most heavily represented companies are American Telephone & Telegraph (AT&T) (1910s–1970s), Eastman Kodak (1890s–1970s), and Campbell Soup (1900s–1970s). Other companies and products, including Metropolitan Life Insurance, Kraft, Ivory Soap, and Coca Cola, are frequently seen in the collection. In addition, many ads for various railroad companies and automobiles, reflecting Lightner's interest in these areas, are included from various U.S. magazines, all for U.S manufacturers.
T. Burns collection of racial stereotypes, 1880s-1983 and undated
T. Burns was an African American collector who began acquiring this material in the late 1980s.
Collection includes advertisements, games, sheet music, serial illustrations, and other caricatures of African Americans predominately dating from the late 1800s through the mid-1900s. A significant portion of the illustrations were excerpted from news or literature magazines such as Harper's Weekly, Frank Leslie's Popular Magazine, and Puck magazine. The collection also includes advertisements from companies, including Aunt Jemima and Cream of Wheat, which appeared in women's magazines such as Modern Priscilla and Needlecraft. Many items depict African Americans in rural or Southern settings. Of note in the collection are a set of shackles, which have no known provenance or date, but which appear to have been intended for slaves (or could be a reproduction from a later time period).
