Skip to main content

The Kevin P. Reilly, Sr. Outdoor Advertising Archives: Digital Collections

Outdoor Advertising Collections in the Hartman Center

Outdoor Advertising Digital Collections

Outdoor Advertising Association of America Archives, 1885 - 1990s

More than 16,000 images of outdoor advertisements and other scenes from the Outdoor Advertising Association of America, the primary professional organization in the field.

Outdoor Advertising Association of America Slide Library, 1891 - 1994

More than 11,000 images of primarily billboards exhibiting a range of graphic artistry, advertising campaigns and marketing strategy. In addition there are slides of artwork, billboard construction and other related images.

R.C. Maxwell Company Records, 1904 - 1990s

The R.C. Maxwell Company of Trenton, NJ was one of the earliest outdoor advertising companies in the country, founded in 1894 by Robert Chester Maxwell.  The Maxwell digital collection is comprised of nearly 10,000 photographs of billboards, spectaculars, and other outdoor advertising, mostly on the Atlantic City boardwalk from the 1920s - 1950s.  There are also images of billboard construction and erection.

John Paver Papers, 1920 - 1979

Approximately 300 images of outdoor advertising that document his career in outdoor advertising, especially his years as president of the National Outdoor Advertising Bureau (NOAB).

John E. Brennan Outdoor Advertising Survey Reports, 1947 - 1980

The Brennan Outdoor Advertising Reports document the professional endeavors of outdoor advertising design researcher John E. Brennan.  His work primarily consisted of measuring the effectiveness of billboard placement, design and layout through market surveys.  Reports of survey results were made available to subscribers.  

Resource of Outdoor Advertising Description (ROAD)

You can search across all outdoor advertising digital collections simultaneously using the ROAD portal.

Outdoor Advertising Digital Collections