Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources of Text (Angela Zoss)
- Born digital text
- RSS feeds
- Service-specific text collection tools:
- Digitized texts
* - also has some processing/analysis capabilities
- Reporter's Lab
From Duke's Center for Media and Democracy, tools to 'reduc[e] the time and expense of finding, understanding and documenting stories.'
Duke users can search the news through our subscription databases--selected ones below:
Tip: Look up titles of newspapers in e-journals to find online date coverage.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Find articles in major U.S. newspapers. Coverage varies, but most from the early 2000s to present
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from historical American newspapers published from 1690-1922
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Search selected translation of articles (1995-2013) from non-United States media sources covering political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format
Video and Audio
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Find and watch streaming video on a broad range of topics related to American history
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and news coverage for many subjects
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Evening news broadcasts from major U.S. networks, 1989 to present (full videos require a fee)
Internet Archive TV News
Search and view broadcasts from 2009 to present.
Video search engine for the free Web, includes a News category