Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Studies Art, Art History & Visual Studies: Reference works

Handbooks

Handbook of Japanese Art
Call Number: Lilly: N7350 .T73 1976
Chronological table of Japanese art
Call Number: Lilly: N7350 .Y298 1981
A chronology of art developments (including museum openings) alongside historical events in Japan and China from 501 AD to 1980. Provides a chart comparing cultural and historical period divisions, an index of personal names, a list of owners and collectors and an index of art works.
Japanese art signatures : a handbook and practical guide
Call Number: Lilly Ref: N7358 .S454 1987
This resource makes it possible to decipher and correctly read the names and common adjuncts to signatures such as dates and age of an artist even with no formal training in the Japanese language. It covers over 1,600 Chinese characters, and provides a catalog of over 11,000 names used by artists and craftsmen, and a lexicon of character variations. Includes a bibliography, index, and special section devoted to woodblock prints.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art
Call Number: Lilly Ref: N7358 .R6 1976
Revision of Koji Hoten, a book published in 1923. Does not include information on 20th century Japanese artists.
Guide to Modern Japanese Woodblock Prints, 1900-1975
Call Number: Lilly: 
Provides information on woodblock artists, art schools, organizations, exhibitions, magazines, publishers, carvers, printers, etc.
Nihon bijutsukan = The art museum of Japan 日本美術館
Call Number: Lilly and EA Ref: N7350 .N64 1997
Includes approximately 3000 works of art from prehistoric times to the present. Organized chronologically, with each chapter divided into themes. Furigana is extensively provided for names, titles of art works, and unfamiliar terms. Appendix includes a dictionary of art terms, a dictionary of artists, photographers, a list of images, and an index in gojuon order.

Notable Database

Oxford Art Online
An image database, alternately known as Grove Dictionary of Art.  It covers ever aspect of visual arts from prehistory to the present day, and  contains 45,000 articles by more than 6,800 scholars.