Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Studies Art, Art History & Visual Studies: Exhibition Catalogs

Exhibition Catalogs

Japanese art exhibitions with catalogue in the United States of America, 1893-1981.Edit/Delete
LSC: 016.70952 J35, 19
173 exhibitions of Japanese art accompanied by catalog and listed alphabetically by state.
Kindai Nihon āto katarogu korekushon 近代日本ア-ト・カタログ・コレクションEdit/Delete
Library Service Center: N7354.5 .K563, 2001
82 volumes of reproduced Japanese art exhibition catalogs beginning from 1882.
Lilly: N7354.5 .M452 1994
Lilly: N7355.3 .T357, 2002
Lilly: N7355.4 .S36, 2006

Art Catalogs

Japan Art Catalog Project promotes access to Japanese art catalogs.

Museum Guides

Visiting Arts regional profile : Asia Pacific arts directoryEdit/Delete
Lilly Reference: NX572 .D73 1996
This 3 volume set is an address/phone numbers/personnel directory for visual and performing arts agencies in coastal Asia and Australia. The directory covers cultural agencies which support the arts, performing arts groups and venues, museums and galleries, arts festivals, arts training, libraries, and foundations. There is an overview of the history of both visual and performing arts at the beginning of each section. Divided by region; volume 1 covers Oceania and Australia-New Zealand, vol. 2, Southeast Asia and vol. 3, China, Japan and Korea. Taiwan and North Korea are omitted. Two deficits are that most organizational names are given only in English, and that the geographical organization is done alphabetically by Japanese regional terms; hence Chubu, Chugoku-Shikoku, Hokkaido, Kanto, Kinki etc. There is no index.
Roberts' guide to Japanese museums of art and archaeologyEdit/Delete
Library Service Center: N3735 .R634 1987
LSC: 708.952 R645, R643, 1978 
Approximately 350 museums are listed in alphabetical order by name. Includes basic facts about each museum and an evaluative comment of the collection.
EA Ref: N3735 .N546
Published annually since 1997, this guide lists the special exhibitions held by by about 120 Japanese museums and provides information on the special exhibition dates, the museum's collections, hours, catalogs and how to get there. Organized by region from Hokkaido to Okinawa. Has an index of museums by name and one page descriptions of a few special exhibits planned for the following year.
Zenkoku bijutsukan gaido = Museum in Japan 全国美術館ガイドEdit/Delete
EA Ref: N3735 .Z38 1996
Covers 1530 museums in Japan. Organized by region. Provides address, phone number, hours, directions and a description of the collection.