Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Studies Reference Tools: Directories

NGOs and Think Tanks

Japan NGO Center for International Cooperation (JANIC) 国際協力NGOセンター JANIC is a non-profit, non-partisan networking NGO founded in 1987.

National Institution of Research Advancement (NIRA) 総合研究開発機構
Provides information on Japanese public policy institutes.  シンクタンク年報 2007 is available through their online database. 

Josei dantai yōran: Minkan joseikin gaido = Directory of grant-making foundations : guide to private grant sources 助成団体要覧: 民間助成金ガイド [serial]  Useful for identifying grants and scholarships in the private sector. Arranged by name with subject and type of grant indexes. 

Shinku tanku nenpō シンクタンク年報 [serial]  Contains 216 Japanese think-tanks which can be searched using gojuon order by company name, prefecture, or research area. Also contains an overview of the entire field. 

Directory of Japanese NGOs Concerned with International Cooperation 国際協力NGOダイレクトリー [serial]
354 NGOs active in economic development, the environment, human rights and peace. Indexed by organization name and size of revenue, type of activity and countries targeted. 
NPO NGO gaido NPO NGO ガイド
Provides information for 600 organizations which are arranged by type of activity and location within Japan. Includes index.

Business Directories

Bijinesu jōhōgen ビジネス情報源: 経営企画・商品開発・マーケティング分野情報源
Call Number: EA Ref: HF54.52.J3 B555 1991
Duke has 1991; latest in EA Ref
Directed to economic planning, product development, and marketing, this directory provides addresses, phone numbers, and information on unique products/specialization of each entry. Has information on business information organizations, libraries, overseas information org., databases, mass communications, R&D firms, OA, etc. Includes a 214 page bibliography of books on ten topics ranging from management to technology.
Kaisha nenkan, jōjō-kaishaban [serial] = Nikkei, annual corporation reports // Kaisha sōkan, mijōjō kaishaban [serial] = Nikkei, annual corporation reports, unlisted 会社年鑑上場会社版; 会社総鑑, 未上場会社版
Call Number: EA Ref: HD2907.A1 K34; HF3823 .K35
Library has 1997, 2000; 2003
A directory of all the companies listed/not listed on the Japanese stock exchanges. Financial detail is given in detail, and includes stock price, net worth for the most recent ten years, number of employees (includes average age, av. no. of years working for the firm and av. salary, broken down by gender), names of chief managerial employees, bank loans (size and source), major products and percentage of income, major expenses (including advertising) and so on. Organized by type of industry; name index at front of volume one.
Zenkoku dantai meibō 全国団体名簿 [serial]
Call Number: EAC: HG4245.Z5 Z465, latest in EA Ref.
Duke has 1997.
Covers corporations, associations, institutions, etc.
Seikyō meikan : 1995-nenban Nihon Seikyōren kaiin shokai 生協名鑑
Call Number: EA Ref: HD3387.A43 S45 1994
Nihon Seikatsu Kyōdo Kumiai Rengōkai, Consumer cooperatives.

Political Directories

Educational Directories

Daigaku kenkyū yōran = Directory of scientific research institutes of universities in Japan 大学研究所要覧 [serial]
Call Number: EA Ref: AS548 .D35 Duke has 1992 and 2003
A directory of approx. 1200 scientific research institutes affiliated with universities. Divided into national, public and private universities and then arranged by prefecture. Name index.
Zenkoku gakujutsu kenkyū dantai sōran = Directory of the scientific research organization in Japan 全国学術研究団体総覧 [serial]
Call Number: EA Ref: AS541 .Z465
Duke has 1993 and 1996; latest in EA Ref.
The1996 edition includes 1503 scholarly associations grouped by subject as well as associations linked to universities. Gojuon index.
Zenkoku gakkō sōran 全国学校総覧
Call Number: EA Ref: LA1318 .Z465 1994
Duke has 1994; latest in EA Ref
Provides addresses and phone numbers for Universities, Graduate schools, Junior colleges, high, middle and elementary schools, pre-schools, special and non-regular schools. Organized by type of school and within that by prefecture.