Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rise of Modern Science- Eighteenth to the Twentieth Century: Other Collections of Primary Sources

A Guide for John Mathew's History 303

Duke Resources

  • 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
    full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
  • Making of the Modern World
    Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from the 1460-1850 period, and pre-1906 serials. It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections--the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration--along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers
    Includes local and regional newspapers.
  • 19th Century British Pamphlets
    Collection of over 20,000 digitised significant British pamphlets created by Research Libraries UK. Provides primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals
    Duke subscribes to:
    Series One: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humour and Leisure/Sport
    Series Two: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial. periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand and South Africa.
  • Sabin Americana contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
  • Early American Imprints I (Evans) is the digital version of the Early Amerian Imprints, a microfilm set based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography.  The databases includes more than 37,000 broadsides, pamphlets, and books published from 1639 to 1800.  Early American Imprints II covers the period of 1801 to 1819.
  •  Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801, including books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral items. Contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800.
  • Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
  • Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 are included.
  • Eighteenth Century Journals II
    Journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals

Wealth of Nations