Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rise of Modern Science- Eighteenth to the Twentieth Century: Newspaper Articles

A Guide for John Mathew's History 303

Online Newspapers

The Times Digital Archive provides access to The Times (London) from 1785-1985 in full-text; provides facsimile reproductions of full pages or specific articles.  HINT: search in full-text rather than keyword to get the best retrieval.

Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to scanned images from these major U.S. newspapers and African-American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Los Angeles Times (1881-1986); The New York Times (1851-2006); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1992); The Washington Post (1877-1993); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); The Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); and: The Chicago Defender (1910-1975). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.

Chronicling America is a joint project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.  Currently, you can search and view pages from newspapers of the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.  The ultimate goal of this project is to have every state and U.S. territory represented in this digital archive.  Coverage is 1890 to 1922 but varies by title.

Great Britain's The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment.

 


 

New York Times

New Deal cartoon from New York Times, March 1933