Skip to main content

Feminist Movements, 1880s to the Present

Guide to primary sources documenting feminist movements at the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture in the Rubenstein Library.

Woman Suffrage in the U.S.: Manuscript Collections

William Watts Ball Papers, 1778-1952Matilda Young, via Library of Congress
Prominent SC newspaper editor intimately associated with a range of public affairs including the legislation around suffrage in SC. Papers include several letters from the National Women's Party and copies of his addresses on the subject.

Bedinger-Dandridge Family Papers, 1752-2000
Correspondence and papers, esp. 1915-1916, of Caroline Dansk Dandridge and her daughter, Serena Dandridge reflect their active interest in suffrage and include minutes of a West VA Equal Suffrage Association meeting.

Clement Claiborne Clay Papers, 1811-1925
Collection includes the addresses and writings of Virginia Clay-Clopton who was an outspoken suffragist and member of the Alabama Equal Suffrage Association.

Mary Cowper Papers, 1895-1969
Collection documents Cowper's life as an active suffragist and as instrumental in the formation and early years of the NC League of Women Voters.

George Gifford Papers, 1860-1920
Gifford was a journalist and politician. His papers includes several letters (some from Lucy Stone) during the 1860s and 70s and a pamphlet on the woman suffrage mass convention in Augusta Maine, 1874.

Hemphill Family Papers, 1784-1958
The Hemphill men were public figures (minister, editor, politician) and the women were involved in a variety of social organizations. Collection includes several letters (including one from Alice Stone Blackwell) re: woman suffrage from 1894-1910 and several printed items from 1889-1907.

Southgate-Jones Family Papers, 1794-2008
Mattie Logan Southgate Jones was the president of the Durham Equal Suffrage League and Chair of the 5th District of the Equal Suffrage Association of NC.

Stanley S. Wohl Papers, 1762-1974
Collection includes letters from and photographs of Susan B. Anthony and Lucy Stone.

Matilda Young Papers, 1932-1933
Papers of Alva Belmont's traveling companion includes a memoir by Belmont who was a nationally known suffragist. Matilda Young, pictured above, image via Library of Congress

Selected Published Primary Sources

National American Woman Suffrage Association. Handbook and Proceedings of the Annual Convention, 16th-52nd, 1884-1921.

Alabama woman ridicules idea that suffrage amendment would give vote to Negro women. [Birmingham, Ala. : Alabama Equal Suffrage Association, 1919?]

Why the home makers do not want to vote. Illinois Association Opposed to the Extension of Suffrage to Women. [Chicago, Illinois, n.d.]

United States. Congress. House. Committee on Woman Suffrage. Extending the right of suffrage to women : hearings before the Committee on Woman Suffrage, House of Representatives, Sixty-fifth Congress. Govt. Print. Off., 1918.

The woman voter of North Carolina : where she votes and where she does not!: a state-wide survey of official presidential and congressional vote cast in the November election, 1916, before the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment, and official presidential and congressional vote cast in November election, 1920, after the enfranchisement of women : congressional vote of 1918 and 1922. compiled by Mary Henderson. [Raleigh, N.C.] : North Carolina Democratic Executive Committee, [1924?] .

How it feels to be the husband of a suffragette, by him; illustrations by May Wilson Preston. New York, George H. Doran company, [c1915].

Hubbard, Benjamin Vestal. Socialism, Feminism, and Suffragism, the Terrible Triplets, Connected by the Same Umbilical Cord, and Fed From the Same Nursing... American publishing company [c1915].

Miller, Alice Duer. Are Women People? A Book of Rhymes for Suffrage Times. George H. Doran [c1915].

Reed, E.T. [illustrator]. Panko, or, Votes for women : the great card game : suffragists v. anti-suffragists. London : Peter Gurney, [1910?].