Skip to main content

History of Medicine Collections: Reference Sources

Biographies

African-American medical pioneers.  Charles H. Epps, Jr.,  Davis G. Johnson,  Audrey L. Vaughan.  Rockville, Md. : Betz Pub. Co., c1994.

Dictionary of Medical Biography. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2007.

Dictionary of American nursing biography.  Martin Kaufman, editor-in-chief ;  Joellen Watson Hawkins, Loretta P. Higgins, and Alice Howell Friedman, contributing editors.  New York : Greenwood Press, 1988.

Dictionary of American medical biography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984.

Women in medicine : a bibliography of the literature on women physicians compiled and edited by Sandra L. Chaff. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1977-

 

Histories

General

History of medicine : a scandalously short introduction.  Jacalyn Duffin. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2010.

The Cambridge history of medicine. Edited by Roy Porter. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006.

Blood and guts: a short history of medicine. Roy Porter.  London: Penguin, 2003.

A short history of medicine. F. González-Crussi. New York : Modern Library, 2007.

The art of medicine : over 2,000 years of images and imagination. Julie Anderson. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2011.

Specific

A history of neuro-oncology. Rolando F. Del Maestro. [Montreal] : DW Medical Consulting, [2006]

Get me out : a history of childbirth from the Garden of Eden to the sperm bank. Randi Hutter Epstein. New York : Norton, c2010.

Nurturing children : a history of pediatrics.  A.R. Colón with P.A. Colón. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.

The excruciating history of dentistry : toothsome tales & oral oddities from Babylon to braces. James Wynbrandt.  New York : St. Martin's Press, 1998.

American nursing : a history of knowledge, authority, and the meaning of work.  Patricia D'Antonio.  Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2010.

An American health dilemma : a medical history of African Americans and the problem of race. W. Michael Byrd, Linda A. Clayton ; with a foreword by Robert. Blendon. New York : Routledge, c2000-2002.

The history of ophthalmology. Edited by Daniel M. Albert, Diane D. Edwards. Cambridge, Mass. : Blackwell Science, c1996.

The Cambridge illustrated history of surgery. Harold Ellis. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009

A history of clinical psychiatry : the origin and history of psychiatric disorders. Edited by German E. Berrios & Roy Porter.  New York : New York University Press, 1995

Bibliographies

General

Guerra, Francisco. American Medical Bibliography, 1639-1783: a chronological catalogue, and critical and bibliographical study of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and articles in periodical publications relating to the medical sciences--medicine, surgery, pharmacy, dentistry, and veterinary medicine--printed in the present territory of the United States of America during British dominion and the Revolutionary War. 1962.

Austin, Robert. Early American Medical Imprints. 1961.

Cordasco, Francesco. American Medical Imprints, 1820-1910 : a checklist of publications illustrating the history and progress of medical science, medical education, and the healing arts in the United States : a preliminary contribution. 2 vols. 1985.

Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, U.S. Army. 61 vols. 1880-1961. Available online at http://indexcat.nlm.nih.gov/

Index Medicus. 1879-. Now available online as MEDLINE.

HISTLINE: The National Library of Medicine's online database in history of medicine and related sciences.

Wellcome Institute. Subject Catalog of the History of Medicine and Related Sciences. 18 vols. 1980.

 

Specific

Bullough, Bonnie, et al. Nursing; a historical bibliography. 1981.

Kaiser, Margaret, comp. The United States Public Health Service: an historical bibliography of selected sources. 1989.

Reynolds, P. Preston, comp. Guide to Resources and the National Library of Medicine's Collection on the History of African Americans in Medicine. 3rd ed. [s.l., s.n., 2003]

Rhee, Young K., comp. The History of AIDS: a selective bibliography. 1993.

Weisbard, Phyllis and Apple, Rima D., eds. History of Women and Science, Health and Technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and the disciplines. 2nd ed. 1993.

 

Journal articles - historical journal citations are searchable in PubMed
Once you have entered your search in PubMed, you may limit it by using the subject subset, History of Medicine, located on the Subsets pull-down menu on the PubMed "Limits" screen. This subset can also be used in a search as history [sb]. Example: tuberculosis AND history [sb] Please note: sb should be entered in brackets.

Books - historical monograph citations are searchable in LOCATORplus
Enter your search term in the LOCATORplus "Search For" box. You may then limit your retrieval by choosing the HMD Collection option in the "Quick Limit" box and clicking on the Search button at the bottom of the Simple Search menu.

Guides to the Literature

The Grolier Club. One Hundred Books Famous in Medicine; conceived, organized and with an introduction by Haskell F. Norman. 1995.

Fye, W. Bruce. The History of Medicine: an annotated list of key reference works. Annals of Internal Medicine. January 1993; 118 (l): 59-62.

Fred W. Roper and Jo Anne Boorkman. Introduction to reference sources in the health sciences. [Chicago, Ill.] : Medical Library Association ; Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, c1994.

Morton's Medical Bibliography; an annotated check-list of texts illustrating the history of medicine (Garrison and Morton); edited by Jeremy M. Norman. 5th ed. 1991.

 

Encyclopedias

General

Bynum, W.F. and Porter, Roy, eds. Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine. 2 vols. 1993.

Dictionary of Scientific Biography. 18 vols. 1970-1990.

The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine. 2001.

Specific

Haubrich, William S. Medical Meanings: A Glossary of Word Origins. 1997.

Huth, Edward J. and Murray, T. Jock, eds. Medicine in Quotations: views of health and disease through the ages. 2000.

Jablonski, Stanley. Jablonski's Dictionary of Syndromes and Eponymic Diseases. 2nd ed. 1991.

McDonald, Peter. Oxford Dictionary of Medical Quotations. 2004.

Schmidt, Jacob E. Medical Discoveries: who and when. 1959.

Silverman, Mark, et al., eds. The Quotable Osler. 2003.

Yasgur, Jay. A Dictionary of Homeopathic Medical Terminology. 3rd ed. 1994.