Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Deese, Ethiopia photographs, 1935-1936
African postcard collection, 1899-1956
Contains about 243 postcards depicting various African tribes, native dress, housing, and daily activities. The majority of the postcards have images of South Africa (175 postcards) and the Belgian Congo during World War I (46 postcards), among other items.
Bamako, Mali, photographs, circa 2002
Collection comprises 23 color photographs (4"x6") of Bamako, Mali, sent to Helene Baumann by a friend in 2002, accompanied by a letter containing descriptive information for each photograph. Baumann was librarian for African and Western European Studies at Duke University, 1988-2006. Includes images of housing conditions; markets, public spaces, monuments, and buildings; and soccer matches.
Boer War Photograph Album, [ca. 1900]-1909
Album of photographs taken and labeled by unidentified nurse serving with the British Army in South Africa. Small album of annotated snapshots of hospital, camp, and field scenes in South Africa during the South African War (1899-1902).
Daniel A. Collins Papers
The Daniel A. Collins Papers span the years 1946-1986 and document aspects of the career and life of Collins, politically active Bay Area resident and the first African American on the faculty of the School of Dental Science at the University of San Francisco. Color snapshots from his 1978 trip to Indonesia and black and white professional photographs taken from his 1960s trips to Africa complete the collection.
Dese, Ethiopia, photographs, 1935-1936
Comprises 43 black-and-white photographs of Dese, Ethiopia, primarily featuring groups of people and local infrastructure. Images include native tribunals and prisoners, the nobility, Coptic priests, water bearers, processions, a local calvary unit, a slave, roads, houses, fountains, wells, a Coptic school, and the local market, among others.
Italian soldier's Ethiopian photograph album, 1935-1937
Comprises a photograph album maintained by an Italian soldier stationed in Ethiopia during the Second Italo-Ethiopian War and the subsequent Italian occupation of the region. The photographs are divided into groups by city, and many have captions written in Italian. Cities and other locations mentioned include Axum, Scire, Gondar, Cheren, Asmara, Lake Tana, Adua, and Addis Ababa, among others.
Lewis Hine Fellowship Photographs Collection, 2003-2008
The Lewis Hine Fellowship Photographs Collection spans the years 2003-2008 and consists of selected images from the documentary collections of six of the Lewis Hine Documentary Fellows Program (LHDFP) fellows in the following locations: Alex Fattal (South Africa); Maital Guttman (South Africa); Kate Joyce (South Africa); Elena Rue (Ethiopia); Amanda van Scoyoc (Boston, Mass.); and Lucy Wilson (Zimbabwe).
Missionary postcard collection, about 1920-1953.
Collection comprises 496 postcards depicting Catholic missionary activities in Africa, primarily in the Congo region, but also in Madagascar, Togo, Uganda, South Africa, Cameroon, Egypt, and Zanzibar, among others. There are images of schools, medical facilities, and religious activities. It appears the cards were used for fund raising on behalf of the missions. Some postcards contain messages written in French, German, Dutch, and Italian; and were mailed between 1920 and 1953.
Senegal, French Guinea, Ivory Coast, and Rouen photograph album, 1898-1910.
Collection comprises a photograph album holding 174 albumen photographs. There are images of French colonial Africa and colonial Senegal, French Guinea, and the Ivory coast at the turn of the twentieth century.
South Africa Documentary Photographs collection, 1940s-2007 and undated
Consists of four series of photographs documenting South African social conditions under and after apartheid, dating from approximately the 1940s-2007. The photographer, Alex Harris, is a documentary photographer who co-founded the series of South African documentary projects represented in part by the works in this collection.