LibGuides: Resources on African History and Culture in the Rubenstein Library: Manuscripts

Search Term Examples

LC Subject Headings

Africa--Description and travel

Africa--Foreign relations

Africa--Pictorial works

Africa--Social life and customs

Missionaries--Africa

Missions -- Africa

Useful Information

Citing Special Collections Sources

Using the Reading Room

Finding Material

Manuscript Collections and Travel Diaries

Africa papers, 1781-1958
Includes information about various missionaries and church figures in Africa.
African travel diary, 1921-1926
Written apparently by an Englishwoman, primarily tracing her journey through the Great Rift Valley in Africa. Described are the flora and fauna, campsites, travel arrangements, and her encounters with the natives. She comments upon the European communities she visits, some of them missionary settlements, the social life and customs of the settlements, and the schools for the native children.
African travel diary, 1965 July 31-1965 August 31
Handwritten diary, detailing Richard Branscomb's experiences travelling with his aunt, Dr. Louise H. Branscomb, through Africa and Greece (Athens only). Countries visited included Sierra Leonne, the Congo, Liberia, Zambia, Rhodesia, South Africa, Kenya, and Egypt.
Charles Harris Allen papers, 1893-1902
Six letters from Lord Cromer reviewing the work of the Home for Freed Women Slaves in Cairo, Egypt, and the progress of the campaign against slavery in the Sudan, and Allen's career. One letter, 1897, from Lord Curzon criticizes statements by Allen and Joseph A. Pease concerning the British government's policy about slavery on Zanzibar.
American Colonization Society, 1851-1854
Power of attorney from John S. Chambliss to Captain David Boone of Natchez, Miss., relating to his claim for services rendered the society. Supporting affidavit of J. E. Calhoun of Claiborne County. Telegram dated Sept. 11, 1854, requesting that the Rev. W. McLean, agent of the Colonization Society, trace the receipt by Thomas Scott, Sr. in Greenville, Liberia, of twenty-five hundred dollars stolen from a Mr. Bell, Esqr. by African-Americans.
British Parliamentary papers on the Ashantee Invasion, 1873-1877
The Ashantee (also spelled Ashanti) Invasion of Britain's Gold Coast protectorates began in December 1872. British forces responded with their own expedition and invasion of the Ashantee nation in January 1874, resulting in the Battle of Amoaful and the destruction of Kumasi.
more...less...
Materials in this collection consist of bound volumes and printings of reports, dispatches, and correspondence sent to Parliament during the Ashantee (also spelled Ashanti) invasion and the subsequent British expedition into Ashantee lands. Includes initial reports pre-dating the invasion, compilations of correspondence from the commanding officers leading the British forces, transcriptions of communications from the Ashantee king, negotiations regarding the Ashantee surrender, and reports from the Treasury about the cost of the expedition, both monetarily and in terms of British casualties.
Christopher (Ship) papers, 1791-1792
Log book of the slave ship Christopher, detailing its journey, 1791-1792, from Liverpool England, to the Congo (now Zaire) river estuary, to Barbados and Dominica, and back to Liverpool. Volume includes instructions to the ship's captain, Charles Molyneux, an invoice of goods on board, crew list with wages, receipts for slave sales, and account of outfitting costs.
George Arthur Roberts Family papers, 1884-[1970s]
The George Arthur Roberts Family Papers span the years from 1884 until the late 1970s, and consist largely of visual documents, including photographs, photograph albums, slides, and negatives; a collection of postcards and a small amount of printed material are also included. While the majority of the images are unidentified, they provide a rich and extensive pictorial record of the activities of pioneer Methodist missionaries.
more...less...
In addition to documenting aspects of missionary history, the Roberts papers also depict the landscapes and peoples of Rhodesia (Zimbabwe) and surrounding areas, particularly the Umtali region (now Mutare), at a time when they remained relatively untouched by western influence. The Papers are organized into the following series based on format: the Photographic Prints Series, Postcards Series, Printed Material Series, Negatives Series, Slides Series, and the Photograph Albums Series.
George Arthur Roberts family papers, 1884-[1970s]
Methodist missionary from Iowa who went to Old Umtali (now Mutare) Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) in 1907 to teach agriculture. He retired in 1950, but remained in the area.
Greta Gazeley papers, 1888-1961
Missionaries in Angola from the 1890s to the 1960s. Collection contains photographs, letters, and printed materials documenting at least three generations of an English missionary family living in Angola. Also includes stamps from several countries.
Journal of a tour up the Nile, 1892 Feb. 17-Mar. 10
Contains richly detailed entries about people, sights, antiquities, shops, and markets along the way as well as descriptions of weather and life aboard ship. A few entries provide insight into the author's attitudes toward African people along the journey.
James A. Joseph papers, 1961-2004
Joseph has worked for four U.S. presidents, beginning as Interior undersecretary for President Carter from 1977-1981. He has also served on the Advisory Committee to the Agency on International Development under President Reagan, and was appointed by President Bush to the Presidential Commission on Historically Black Colleges. In 1996, he was appointed as Ambassador to South Africa by President Clinton, where he served until 1999.
Algernon Charles Littleton papers, 1861-1906
4 manuscript journals kept by Littleton, commander of H.M.S. RAMBLER, during his travels along the western coast of Africa, the Falkland Islands, and the Atlantic coast of South America; assorted photographs; and letters.
Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission Posters, 2005-2009
Established in 2003 by the passage of the Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Act. Collection consists of seventeen color posters featuring cartoon-style scenes of Kenyan life, promoting ethical behavior and discouraging corruption, bribes, sexual harrassment, and misuse of public spaces. Includes captions in both English and Swahili.
Walter Lowrie letters, 1838-1852.
Collection includes six letters (10 pages) written to Walter Lowrie by African American missionaries and emigrants to Liberia while he served as Secretary of the Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions. Among them were freed slave and missionary James M. Priest, who wrote about the enlargement of the Mission, health matters, and with a request for medicine and general support (1845).
Mrs. R. Lee papers, ca. 1820s
Consists of a narrative history of African exploration based on Lee's travels as well as the accounts of other writers.
Mary McCornack papers, 1887-1962
Mary McCornack Thompson was an American Presbyterian missionary who spent over forty years (1889-1932) traveling and teaching in South Africa and Rhodesia. The collection contains diaries, and a few letters. Main subjects are missionary life and travel in Africa. Materials range in date between 1887-1962.
Enoch Greenleafe Parrott papers, 1805-1935.
Naval officer born in Portsmouth, N.H. Served under Commander Matthew C. Perry against Beraly and the neighboring towns on the west coast of Africa. Diary dated 1842-1844 provides account of actions taken to support African-American colonists in Liberia. Diary details attempts to punish natives for the death of an American seaman as well as the killing of people and the burning of towns and villages. Includes a description of a visit to the captured slave ship, the Uncas. In his diary dated 1844-1848, Parrott wrote of the end of his African trip and his activities during the Mexican War.
James M. Priest letter, cover, and newspaper, 1837-1844.
James M. Priest was born ca. 1816 in Paris, Ky.; he died in 1883. A Kentucky slave who was given a theological education in Indiana by the religious woman who owned him, he was then freed to go to Liberia in 1835 with his wife, who was also a freed slave.
Shields Family papers, 1888-1968
The Shields Family Papers consist of correspondence, legal papers, and photographs created by three generations of a missionary family. The correspondence documents the experiences of a missionary family in Angola (Luanda and Malange) and Zimbabwe (including the Umtali region) in the early twentieth century.
Brenda Schoonover papers, 1994-2008.
Brenda Schoonover was the former ambassador to Togo (1998-2000) and the interim ambassador to Belgium (2003-2004). Included are media articles, the majority from Belgium newspapers in 2003-2004; miscellaneous photographs and letters; and numerous videocassettes documenting ceremonies and programs during her time in Togo.
Ezekiel Skinner papers, 1834-1836.
This collection consists of 15 letters and other related documents (with typed transcripts) written by Dr. Ezekiel Skinner during his time working for the American Colonization Society in Liberia. Skinner travelled to Africa twice beginning in 1834 and finally returning to the United States in 1837.
South African provincial election ballots, 1994
Collection comprises three provincial ballots (8.5"x17"), from the South African provinces of Gauteng, KwaZulu Natal, and the Western Cape. Instructions on how to fill out the form are provided in 11 languages, including English, Zulu, Afrikaans, Northern Sotho, Xhosa, Sotho, Tswana, Tsonga, Swazi, Ndebele, and Venda. Ballots are printed in full color, with each of the 19 parties represented by a symbol, code, and party leader photograph.
more...less...
The Inkatha Freedom Party was a late entrant into the race, and its information was affixed via a sticker. During the election, each voter cast two votes via two separate ballots, one each for the national versus provincial elections. Voter's selected a party, not an individual candidate, to represent them in the National Assembly and the provincial legislatures.
Peter Storey papers, 1950-2006
The Peter Storey Papers contain correspondence, datebooks, articles, lectures, sermons, committee and subject files, clippings, scrapbooks, videotapes, and electronic records. The collection documents Peter Storey's leadership and active involvement in the Methodist Church of Southern Africa, the South African Council of Churches, the Central Methodist Mission in Johannesburg, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Gun Free South Africa, and other religious and anti-apartheid groups.
The LeRoy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive, 1952-1998
News service founded in Durham, N.C., 1973. Resource files of newspaper clippings, articles, press releases, reports, and other printed materials assembled by the Africa News Service, an organization devoted to distributing information on current events in Africa. Subjects cover all aspects of middle to late twentieth century African history, with an emphasis on foreign and internal relations, political movements, and economic trends.
more...less...
Other topics include cultural developments, social and health issues, women's issues, education, military issues, and agriculture. There are extensive files on foreign relations with the U.S. Publications of the U.S. government and the United Nations are included.