Student Activism at Duke University

The website for this exhibit (created in support of an exhibit on display at the Duke University Libraries in Fall 2014) shares advances and controversial moments in the history of Duke's LGBTIQ community. Oral histories from Duke alums and administrators are included.

Under the "Primary Sources" tab, you'll find a page dedicated to University Archives documentation about Duke's LGBTIQ history.

This online exhibit (created in support of an exhibit on display at the Rubenstein Library in 2013) documents the 1963 integration of Duke's undergraduate class and features documents and images from the University Archives' collections.

An album of historical photos of Duke student activism available on the University Archives' Flickr site. We continue to add images to this album as we locate and scan them!

This detailed timeline, created by University Archives staff, includes key documents and photos from the Vigil.

Durham's African-American newspaper often covered stories and topics related to Duke's African-American staff, as well as African-American student activism. This site provides digitized copies of the newspaper from 1937 through 2016.

Prepared by Duke to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the integration of the undergraduate class, the site includes reminiscences from African-American alums; a timeline of Duke's African-American history; and a video including interviews with several of Duke's first African-American undergraduates.

Hosted by the North Carolina Collection at the Durham County Library, this site presents brief histories and photos of Civil Rights Movement actions in Durham. Duke students participated in several of the actions described here, including the desegregation of downtown businesses; Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s 1960 visit to Durham; the unionization of Duke University employees; and the 1969 Allen Building Takeover.

This Center for Sexual and Gender Diversity website includes a narrative history and timeline of LGBTQ life at Duke.

Written by Sanjay Kishore (T '13) as part of the Duke Partnership for Service, this toolkit explains Duke's investments and different strategies to encourage the adoption of responsible investment policies.

An online exhibit about 1960s demonstrations at UNC-Chapel Hill assembled by UNC-Chapel Hill's Wilson Library that provides background on other ways that student activism was developing in NC.

Run by archivists, this website compiles information about archival collections related to student activism housed at other universities and colleges. These collections may provide a sense of how Duke student activism fits into broader student activist movements.

Duke alum Jeff Miller shares several photos of the 1969 Allen Building Takeover at the bottom of his website about Duke's WDBS radio station.

A timeline, complete with historical documents, Chronicle articles, and photos, about Duke student activism between 1930-1950. This informative website was created by a team of Duke Libraries Humanities and Social Sciences librarians.

An online directory for Duke student organization, Duke Groups provides information about many Duke activist groups.

Archived versions of many activist student group websites and blogs may be accessed via the University Archives' Web Archives.