Skip to Main Content
Digital Libraries and Archives
- Archivo General de Indias The principal archive of Spain and its territories.
- Bibliografia de Escritoras Espanolas A bibliography of Spanish women writers from the middle ages through the 18th Century.
- Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio Bibliográfico A digital collection of printed books and manuscripts from Spain's Historical Heritage by digital facsimile. A joint project of the Spanish Ministry of Culture & the Autonomous Regions.
- Europeana Contains catalogs and collections from many European libraries, museums, galleries and archives.
- HathiTrust Contains the digitized collections of partner libraries including Duke.
- Hemeroteca Digital Ibero-American Electronic Text Series The University of Wisconsin's digital archive of Spanish and Latin American texts from the 16th - 20th Centuries.
- Hispana Contains hundreds of repositories (including libraries, museums, galleries, government archives) and millions of digital objects. It is the Spanish partner in the European digitization project Europeana.
- Historical Research in Europe Intended to assist researchers who are planning to use European libraries and archives, this is a citation database of the contents of European archives.
- PARES (Portal de Archivos Españoles) Open access to archives in Spain.
- Sabin Americana 1500-1926 This digital collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the 1900's.
- Spanish Women's Magazines The University of Connecticut's periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries, with the bulk of the collection dating from the 19th century.
- World Biographical Information System Contains biographical information on over 6 million people worldwide, from the 8th century BC to present
