Iberian Studies

When Searching for journal articles, you can choose to do:

1. A general keyword search through the library homepage OR

2. Select "Online Journal Titles" to search by journal publication. 

HELPFUL HINT - When doing a general keyword search (Option #1), you may get more results than needed. Be sure to use the left hand FILTER OPTIONS to narrow down your search results. 

• You can narrow down by format, topic, whether its's peer-reviewed and LANGUAGE!!

USING THE BrowZine Journal Search (Option #2)

By Subject  - Many of the journals on BrowZine are in Spanish and Portuguese while others are a mixture of Spanish, Portuguese, and English. Use search terms mentioned in the "Getting Started" page. 

• Hospitality and Tourism
• European Studies
• Hispanic American Studies
• Journal of Iberian and Latin American Research

Bilingual Journals

• Confluencia
• REMark: Revista Brasileira de Marketing / Brazilian Journal of Marketing
• Revista de Historia Económica / Journal of Iberian and Latin American Economic History

DATABASES - Serve as a curated resource on a range of topics/ formats/ genres. 

Duke University Libraries subcribes to nearly 1200 databases that studnets, faculty and staff can access. Can hold journal articles, datasets, literature, plays, newspaper archives, grey literature, and even streaming video. Click here to access the Duke Libraries' Database page. 

HINT - You can search by subjects (align with Duke Majors and Foci) and types of databases. 

Review the following links to explore databases related to Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and the Latinx community in the United States:

• Latin American and Caribbean Studies
• Iberian Studies 
• Latinx/o/a Studies

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes (OPA) - Search for primary sources from digitized Spanish texts from the 16th century through the 21st century. 

Continental Europe DatabaseThis link opens in a new window

Search full-text academic journals published in France, Italy, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Covers business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Dialnet -Search for articles, conference papers, book chapters, dissertations and other social sciences and humanities documents published in Spain.

ÍnDICEs CSIC -Search for articles and conference papers published in Spanish academic journals

Informe - Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.

Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) - Search full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles mostly written in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present.

Iter Bibliography - Search for journals on all topics in the European Renaissance (1300-1700) and the medieval period (400-1500).

LACLI (OPA) - Explore a repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies. This is an open access database. 

Latin America & Iberia Database - Search full-text academic journals published in Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Covers business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities

Literature Criticism Online - Search for encyclopedias of literary criticism based on the original print titles.

MLA International Bibliography - Search for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and other aspects of literary studies

OpenEdition - Search and read open access books and journals, scholarly blogs, and academic conference information in the social sciences and humanities. Content is in French (primarily) English, German, and Spanish.

Periodicals Index Online - Search for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences

REDALyC - Search for articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia. Search in Spanish

SciELO Complete - Search for articles published in open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. This is an open access database.

Sur - Includes images of one of the most important literary magazines of the 20th century containing the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements.

Transparent Language Online - Find language learning materials on over 80 languages

CLICK HERE FOR NEWSPAPERS