Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance: Article Indexes

CoVID-Quarantine electronic sources

Indexes

Dance journal databases are specialized - they're by authorities ("peer reviewed") and have special ways to get at art topics.

Magazine and Newspaper Indexes 

Performing Arts Index (formerly IIPA) Find dance reviews + criticism, as well as academic journal articles

ProQuest Central: Includes academic journals, magazine and newspaper articles

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic): Additional newspaper/magazine articles on your topic

Academic OneFile: Search across magazine, journals, and books on your topic

JSTOR: Search for academic journal articles on your topics (limit to "Performing Arts" subject)

MLA Bibliography - massive language-interests db, includes dance topics when related to theater

Gender

GenderWatch - electronic database [a full list of women/gender databases is at the Women's Studies guide and the Sexualities guide

eHRAF - World Cultures -
~ collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, their beliefs, political structure, and cultural traditions.

Historic Newspapers

Current/Recent

Frequently newspaper accounts can be primary sources for performances and other reception documentation.  Also good for interviews and biographical/obituary accounts.  

America's Newspapers - search American newspapers by region of the country or individual newspaper.  Great for seeing how an art show was reviewed in rural America.

Historic - newspaper accounts can be primary sources for exhibitions, reception documentation, museum collection history, etc.  Also good for patronage verification and biographical/obituary accounts.  Both pdf scans of the actual column.

Times Digital Archive - the Times (London), 1785-1985

New York Times Digital Index - 1851 until three years ago.

For a full list of full-text newspapers, see the Newspapers Database List

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen's picture
Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website