Skip to Main Content

CLST 480S: Roman Coinage

Coin catalogues

Roman Republican Coinage (280-31 BCE)
RRC = Crawford, M. 1974. Roman Republican Coinage, London. 2vols
Roman Imperial Coinage (31 BCE-491CE)   
RIC = Mattingly, Syndenham, Sutherland, et. al. 1923. Roman Imperial Coinage, London. 10 volumes

Two volumes of Roman Imperial Coinage are available online: 

Roman Provincial Coinage   
RPC = Burnett, A. M., Amandry, M. and Ripolles, 1992-2006, Roman Provinicial Coinage, London and Paris. 10 volumes.  Duke University Libraries owns those volumes which are only available in print.  Others are available online, or in progress as indicated below. 
Roman Provincial Coinage by volume: 

RPC I                  From the death of Caesar to the death of Vitellius (44 BC–AD 69)  Perkins/Bostock CJ969 .B87 1992; also Lilly 

RPC II                 From Vespasian to Domitian (AD 69–96) Perkins/Bostock CJ969 .B87 1992; also Lilly

RPC III                From Nerva to Hadrian (AD 96–138)   Perkins/Bostock CJ969 .B87 1992; also Lilly    

RPC IV.1             From Antoninus Pius to Commodus (AD 138–192): Cyrenaica to Bithynia-Pontus    

RPC IV.2             From Antoninus Pius to Commodus (AD 138–192): Asia  

RPC IV.3             From Antoninus Pius to Commodus (AD 138–192): Lycia-Pamphylia to Arabia   

RPC IV.4             From Antoninus Pius to Commodus (AD 138–192): Egypt   

RPC V.1              From Pertinax to Macrinus (AD 193–218): Europe   In progress

RPC V.2             From Pertinax to Macrinus (AD 193–218): Pontus-Bithynia and Asia  (In progress)

RPC V.3             From Pertinax to Macrinus (AD 193–218): Lycia-Pamphylia to Egypt  (In progress)

RPC VI              From Elagabalus to Maximinus Thrax (AD 218–238): Asia Minor and Egypt             

RPC VII.1         From Gordian I to Gordian III (AD 238–244): Asia    Perkins/Bostock CJ969 .B87 1992; also Lilly

RPC VII.2         From Gordian I to Gordian III (AD 238–244): all provinces except Asia 

RPC VIII            Philip (AD 244–249

RPC IX              From Trajan Decius to Uranius Antoninus (AD 249–254)  (on order for DUL)

RPC X                From Valerian to Diocletian (AD 253–297)  (In progress)