CLST 480S: Roman Coinage

• CCRO Coinage of the Roman Republic Online 

  This is an online edition of Michael Crawford's "Roman Republican Coinage" (RRC). It indexes coins in the British Museum collection, as well as many other collections. 

• OCRE Online Coins of the Roman Empire 

  OCRE is a collaborative project at the University of New York, the American Numismatic Society and the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World. From the website, "The project records every published type of Roman Imperial Coinage from Augustus in 31 BC, until the death of Zeno in AD 491. This is an easy to use digital corpus, with downloadable catalog entries, incorporating over 43,000 types of coins". The databases entries are integrated with the Digital Atlas of the Ancient World and Pelagios.

• RPC Roman Provincial Coinage                  

  This  is an international collaboration of the British Museum, the  Bibliotheque Nationale de France, and the Ashmolean Museum, University of Oxford.  Many volumes are in print, which we own, and others are available online, as noted below. .

RPC I                  From the death of Caesar to the death of Vitellius (44 BC–AD 69)  Perkins/Bostock CJ969 .B87 1992; also Lilly 

RPC II                 From Vespasian to Domitian (AD 69–96) Perkins/Bostock CJ969 .B87 1992; also Lilly

RPC III                From Nerva to Hadrian (AD 96–138)   Perkins/Bostock CJ969 .B87 1992; also Lilly    

RPC IV.1             From Antoninus Pius to Commodus (AD 138–192): Cyrenaica to Bithynia-Pontus    

RPC IV.2             From Antoninus Pius to Commodus (AD 138–192): Asia  

RPC IV.3             From Antoninus Pius to Commodus (AD 138–192): Lycia-Pamphylia to Arabia   

RPC IV.4             From Antoninus Pius to Commodus (AD 138–192): Egypt   

RPC V.1              From Pertinax to Macrinus (AD 193–218): Europe   In progress

RPC V.2             From Pertinax to Macrinus (AD 193–218): Pontus-Bithynia and Asia  (In progress)

RPC V.3             From Pertinax to Macrinus (AD 193–218): Lycia-Pamphylia to Egypt  (In progress)

RPC VI              From Elagabalus to Maximinus Thrax (AD 218–238): Asia Minor and Egypt             

RPC VII.1         From Gordian I to Gordian III (AD 238–244): Asia    Perkins/Bostock CJ969 .B87 1992; also Lilly

RPC VII.2         From Gordian I to Gordian III (AD 238–244): all provinces except Asia 

RPC VIII            Philip (AD 244–249) 

RPC IX              From Trajan Decius to Uranius Antoninus (AD 249–254)  (on order for DUL)

RPC X                From Valerian to Diocletian (AD 253–297)  (In progress)

• SNG Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum - British Isles

  This is a project of the British Academy and indexes and documents coins in collections in the United Kingdom. They define "Greek" coins as "coins produced by all ancient civilisations of the Mediterranean and neighbouring regions except Rome, though it does include the Roman Provincial series often known as 'Greek Imperials'".

• MANTIS: American Numistmatics Society 

  The ANS database indexes of 600,000 objects. The first page organizes different kinds of coins by departments, Greek, Roman, Byzantine, etc.

• The Digital Coin Cabinet Universität Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf 

  This is a catalog of over 8,000 coins.

• Münzkabinett des Akademischen Kunstmuseum 

  This is a website which catalogs the coin collection in the Universität Bonn, which include over 1500 Greek and 3500 Roman coins. In German.

• Münzkabinett Online Catalogue 

  This is a database of coins in the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin - Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz.

• University of Warwick Coin Database

  This is a smaller database of 1720 coins, part of Warwick's "The Beginnings of Empire, 168-27 BC" project.