LibGuides: Latin 368s: Martial and Pliny: Journal articles

Journal articles

L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
This is the main research databases in classical studies. You must search here.

Gnonom
Paraphrasing from the "About" page: This database lists monographs, edited volumes, journal articles, reviews, and dictionaries, as well as YouTube-material and other internet resources. The database is a collaboration of the Bavarian State Library, the University Libraries of Augsburg, Eichstätt, and Tübingen, the Joint Library of the Hellenic & Roman Societies, the German Archaeological Institute, and the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift für die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft (Critical Journal of the Entire Field of Scholarship on Classical Antiquity).

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Every student loves JSTOR. It's a full text database, which makes it easily searchable, and downloading is efficient. However, it only indexes 77 journals in Classical Studies, and there's an embargo on access to the last five years of them. In contrast, L'Annee Phililogique indexes over 1000 journals in Classics..
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This index of scholarly materials is produced by the Modern Language Association, so it may not seem useful for research about the 1st Century, but you'd be surprised. Here are some sample article titles: "Byron's Indebtedness to Martial and Catullus" and "Martial's Epigram 10.47: Thirty-Nine English Translations to 1750."
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Search dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world from 1743 to present. Full text theses from 1997-present

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
From the website, "TOCS-IN is an entirely volunteer project, started in 1992 on the original idea of R. Morstein-Marx (Santa Barbara, California), and currently managed by PMW Matheson (Toronto, Canada) and Jacques Poucet (Louvain, Belgium). It makes available -- for searching, browsing, or downloading -- the tables of contents of about 185 journals of interest to classicists."

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The "Science" in this title is a misnomer, as this database also searches materials in the humanities and the social sciences. .The scope of the database is unusually large, and it also tracks citations. If you find a good target article, be sure to click on the link to times cited, as this will direct you to other articles which have included the article in their reference list.