This is the "Getting Started" page of the "German Studies & Carolina-Duke Program in German Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Resource Guide for Duke and UNC libraries
Last Updated: Aug 2, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/carolina_duke_german Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Carolina-Duke Program in German Studies

This guide is an introduction to the rich library resources environment for German Studies at Duke University Libraries and UNC University Libraries. The guide presents a selection of standard works and databases for first year graduate students, and lists contact information for help with library related inquiries for graduate student research.

  1. WELCOME
  2. LANGUAGE LEARNING
  3. CATALOGS for Books a list of local catalogs, union catalogs, international catalogs, and resources for finding online texts
  4. DATABASES FOR ARTICLES: an introduction to databases that provide citations, abstracts and full-text articles in scholarly publications about Germanic literatures
  5. ENCYCLOPEDIAS, Dictionaries and Handbooks: a list of standard reference works for German Studies
  6. LITERARY HISTORY: a list of literary histories for German Studies for all periods
  7. REVIEWS OF BOOKS: resources for finding reviews of scholarly publications and secondary literature
  8. HUMANITIES JOURNALS: a list of selected general humanities journals
  9. GERMAN STUDIES JOURNALS: a list of selected German Studies journals
  10. PRIMARY TEXTS & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: starting points on the Internet and in subscription databases
  11. PHILOSOPHY
  12. NEWSPAPERS
  13. MORE HELP: includes some examples of how a librarian can help with your literature search and with getting copies of hard to locate materials

At this time, all URLs point to Duke holdings, the symbol "*" behind a link means that you will be asked to login with your Duke ID and password. A mirror site with UNC specific holdings information is under construction. Grammar resources and Redemittel are available at German Conversation Practice. For readings in Digital Humanities click here.

 

Introductions to German Studies and Research in Literature

Portale zu Vergangenheit und Zukunft - Bibliotheken in Deutschland

Jürgen Seefeldt und Ludger Syré 
Portale zu Vergangenheit und Zukunft - Bibliotheken in Deutschland. Im Auftrag von Bibliothek und Information Deutschland e.V. (BID) herausgegeben. Mit einem vorwort von Claudia Lux. 4. überarb. Aufl. Hildesheim: Olms Verlag, 2011.

 

Frankfurt Bookfair for Librarians 2008 Snapshot

Librarian

Profile Image
Heidi Madden PhD MLS
 

TRLN Librarians

Heidi Madden, PhD
Duke University,  234 Bostock
Email: heidi.madden@duke.edu

Libby Chenault, PhD
University of North Carolina, Davis Library
Email: chenault@email.unc.edu

Duke and UNC are part of the Triangle Research Libraries Network. The goals of the TRLN Cooperative Collection Development Program are to enhance the collections of member libraries and provide better service to users by sharing access to specialized and expensive resources that do not need to be duplicated on individual campuses. By building interlocked collections that maximize the number of unique research titles, the four libraries have increased the breadth and depth of their collections in ways that would otherwise be physically and fiscally impossible, given the increasing number of titles published around the world each year and the rising costs of books, serials, and electronic resources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip