LibGuides: German Studies: Newspapers

The Largest Current Newspapers and News Journals

Cicero Magazin für politische Kultur.(print format)
Focus (news journal) third largest weekly news magazine; recent content only with subscription
Frankfurter Allgemeine founded in 1949, distributed internationally
Frankfurter Rundschau is the largest newspaper in the Rhein- Main area.
Hamburger Abendblatt offers a search in the archive for free, there is some free content; access to full-text is fee-based.
Innsbrucker Zeitungsarchiv contains over 1 million articles; searching the index is free; there is some free content; access to other full-text is fee-based
Neues Deutschland Sozialistische Tageszeitung (Berlin) offers a search in the archive for free; there is some free content; access to other full-text is fee-based
Neue Züricher Zeitung NZZ (Switzerland) foounded in 1760 searching the index of the archive is free; access to full-text is fee-based
Die Presse (Austria) full-text content from 2001
Der Tagesspiegel (Berlin) offers an archive search from 1996 to the present, free full-text content for older issues, access to other full-text is fee-based.
Der Spiegel (news journal) a weekly political journal; recent content is only available with a subscription, but the Spiegel Archiv 1947- offers free full-text. Print Edition
Süddeutsche Zeitung founded in 1945, is the largest national daily. “today’s issue” is freely available; but the next day that content is only available for a fee or with subscription.
Der Stern (news journal) largest popular weekly journal on politics, culture and science; offers mostly preview of articles. Print Edition
Die Tageszeitung taz, founded in 1979; archive offers free plain text starting with 1986
Die Welt was founded in 1946, searching the index to the archive is free , selected free content starts with 1995, the advances search allows
Die Zeit (weekly newspaper). Die Zeit Print Archiv (1946-) offers free full-text, but the archive does not contain everything that is in the print edition

More general internet resources:

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online Digitization project for Austrian newspapers (late 19th and early 20th century).
British Library - German-language newspapers and journals published in London since 1810
Compact Memory: Retrospektive Digitalisierung jüdischer Periodika im deutschsprachigen Raum A major digitization project of Jewish German periodicals (mainly 19th and early 20th century). Portals Digitale Judaica Sammlungen,
DDR Presse Part of ZEFYS (see below). Open access to three major East German papers -- Neues Deutschland, Berliner Zeitung, Neue Zeit (registration is required)
Europeana Newspapers Full-text in
Exilpresse digital a selection of significant German exile magazines (1933-1945) German-Language Newspaper Access in North America
Historic German Newspapers Online Open access newspapers, a part of EuroDocs: Index deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750-1815
ICON at CRL, the Center for Research Libraries; CRL also has extensive print and microfilm holdings, see CRL Newspapers
ZEFYS: Zeitungsinformationssystem provides 270.454 issues from 171 historical newspapers Includes DDR Presse and Amtspresse Preußens
DigiPress (State Library Bavaria) http://digipress.digitale-sammlungen.de
Zeitgeschichtliches Archiv of interest, in particular, for the period immediately after World War II. Indexes 9 million newspaper clippings. The search is free but there is a fee for obtaining copies of the documents.
Rundfunkarchiv

Quick Radio, Television and Film. Read more abut German media here

News Aggregators

Browse Newspaper Databases A-Z or browse Online Journal Titles

Browse guide to Newspapers at Duke that includes Special Collections is under Newspapers in Duke University Libraries

America's News
Includes complete editions of U.S. news sources, with comprehensive full-text coverage. Provides access to information on people, issues and events at the local, state, regional and national levels.
Ethnic newsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search for global news and information content, including Dow Jones, Reuters Newswires, and The Wall Street Journal. Text & data mining prohibited by license. See the "more" link for details.
Text and data mining (TDM) of Factiva content is prohibited by license. TDM includes mass downloading of content via scripts (aka scraping) *and* via Factiva's internal tools for downloading content. Please use ProQuest's TDM Studio for text mining.
IBZ Online This link opens in a new window
Search for international journal articles in the humanities and social sciences
Duke University Libraries users have access to content published between 2001 and 2022.
Newspapers.com: World Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from 3000+ titles from the US and around the world from 1700s – 2000s. Includes the Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from a wide range of national & international newspapers
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format

Historic Newspapers

Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for magazine and newspaper articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Search the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Search the Bodleian Library's collection of 17th and 18th century papers gathered by John Nichols, former Master of the Stationers’ Company.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of 19th century newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from historical American newspapers published from 1690-1922
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from the Times of London from 1785 to 2010
Sunday Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of London's Sunday Times. See also The Times Digital Archive
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the historic archive of the Guardian and the Observer
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Chicago Tribune from 1849-2014
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Los Angeles Times from 1881-2015
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the New York Times from 1851-2019
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2011
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from historical newspapers from around the globe
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Search selected translation of articles (1995-2013) from non-United States media sources covering political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events