This is the "Introduction" page of the "Outdoor Advertising Collections Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Outdoor Advertising Collections Guide  

Outdoor Advertising Collections in the Hartman Center
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/outdoor Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Jantzen billboard

Jantzen® is a registered trademark of Jantzen Apparel, LLC. All rights reserved. www.jantzen.com

 

R.C. Maxwell Collection

 

Title

Guide to Outdoor Advertising Collections

 John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History

 

Introduction

The Outdoor Advertising collections document many diverse topics, including the creative, technological, financial and legislative aspects of the outdoor industry; billboard architecture; public service campaigns; highway beautification efforts; retail selling; and market research. They include materials from outdoor companies, trade organizations, the personal collections of various executives and creative people who worked in the industry, and related books and periodicals. A number of these collections were processed through a generous grant awarded to Duke by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

See also: Outdoor Advertising Collections FAQ

Below is a list of those outdoor advertising collection descriptions now available on-line, including a brief description. An additional link is provided for those collections with on- line searchable collection guides. A limited number of collections include online, searchable access to either descriptions only (ROAD: Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions) or descriptions with images (ROAD 2.0). Any collections with information found in these databases have a link at the end of their entry.

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip