Open Access France - Global Health Refugees - French Language

Directories for Open Access

Important and government funded research centers increasingly offer open access to research results; use the registries below to identify a research institute and check the institute's website for publications. For example: Institute Nicod is a research institute that provides full-text documents (and a subject browse).

The Global Open Access Portal (GOAP) presents a current snapshot of the status of Open Access (OA) to scientific information around the world.

DRIVER - Digital Repository Infrastructure Vision for European Research. Search list of repositories (150,083 documents in French)
OAPEN - Open Access Publishing in European Networks
OpenDoar The list of repositories in France quickly leads you to conferences and publications at major research institutes
Openarchives EU Keyword France Neurosciences
Open Directory Keyword search on Neuroscience France brings up a variety of recommended resources, including guides and institutes
ROAR Registry of Open Access Repositories 59 repositories in France, including statistics

Open Access Databases Europe

Science and Technology publishers are international by nature. You will find that French medical libraries offer many of the same subscription databases as American libraries. Look, for example, at the offerings at BIUM. In addition to subscription resources the following Open Access Science databases are referenced as good resources in European libraries; a larger list follows in the box below:

Databases

Base des publication de l’Institut Pasteur Paris
An online database of publications produced by l’Institut Pasteur, published by “les pasteuriens”.

Explore the databases below in addition to the standard Global Health databases recommended for US researchers

BDSP
Offers a network of documents on public health.
more...less...
La Banque de données en santé publique (BDSP) est un réseau documentaire d'informations en santé publique dont la gestion est assurée par l'Ecole des hautes études en santé publique (EHESP).
Bibliothèque numérique Medic@
BIU Santé
An online network of documents on medicine, odontology, and cosmetology.
more...less...
La BIU Santé est  CADIST en médecine, odontologie et cosmétologie.

CADIST = “En France, les centres d'acquisition et de diffusion de l'information scientifique et technique (CADIST) constituent un réseau documentaire de bibliothèques spécialisées. Ils ont été créés en 1980 et sont gérés par de grandes bibliothèques universitaires ou de grands établissements de recherche. L'objectif des CADIST est, pour une discipline donnée, de rassembler et de diffuser une documentation assurant une couverture plus complète.” (fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/CADIST)
BIU Santé (Biographies)
A computerized catalog of BIU Health’s biographies on physicians, surgeons, scientists, and renowned case study subjects who have been the subject of bio-pathological ailments.
more...less...
La BIU Santé procède actuellement à l’informatisation de son catalogue biographique (biographies de médecins, chirurgiens, scientifiques, personnages célèbres ayant fait l'objet d'une étude bio-pathologique). Plus de 21.000 noms figurent dans la base, avec leurs dates et lieux de naissance et de décès, et pour près de 9.000 d’entre eux des informations complémentaires, dont d’importantes références bibliographiques signalant des documents (monographies, articles, thèses) possédés par la bibliothèque. Progressivement ces informations seront complétées pour toutes les fiches et accompagnées d’un portrait quand il existe dans les catalogues de la bibliothèque.
CABRI
Refines tools and tests the formation of an integrated resource centre service linking catalogue databases of different organism types, genetic materials and other "biologicals" in Europe so that the user world-wide can access these relevant catalogues during one searching session through a common entry point
Centre de Ressources Biologiques de l'Institut Pasteur
Offers information of bacterial, fungi, cyanobacteria, and viral strains, plasmids, transposons, and probes, and bacterial cultures of various strains
ChEBI
Offers dictionary of molecular entities focused on “small” chemical compounds
CHU - Rouen
Provides a database of information pertaining to medical professional recommendations, pedagogy, and associations and documents concerning patients
more...less...
Ce catalogue s'adresse en priorité aux professionnels de santé. On y trouve également des informations destinées aux patients et à leurs familles.
CIB
Provides classification of patents and utility models according to the different technological areas to which they belong
more...less...
La classification internationale des brevets (CIB), créée par l’Arrangement de Strasbourg de 1971, est un système hiérarchique de symboles indépendants de la langue pour le classement des brevets et des modèles d’utilité selon les différents domaines technologiques auxquels ils appartiennent.
CISID
Provides information on infectious diseases, including the number of cases reported and incidence
COPE
Provides 29,000+ entries with valuable information on different cytokines and cells
Current Controlled Trials
Allows users to search, register and share information about randomised controlled trials
EMBL - EBI
Provides freely available data and bioinformatics services to all facets of the scientific community in ways that promote scientific progress.
more...less...
The European Bioinformatics Institute is an academic research institute located in the UK.
Entrez (NCBI)
A cross-database search page on a plethora of subjects, including nucleotides, taxonomy, “BioSystems”, etc.
Espacenet
Offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature; helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Enter search terms in French
more...less...
From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
ICTVdB
IUMS Virology Division's online database of virus taxa, virus species, and subviral agents for the public benefit, to advance education in the taxonomy of viruses and in furtherance thereof
PubMed
Standard medical database in the US; limit search to French language results. Comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books
more...less...
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
revues
covers journals in the "human and social sciences."
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases
Web of Science
Standard science database in the US. Provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases
more...less...
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.

Global Health Refugees - French Language

Directories for Open Access

Open Access Databases Europe

Databases

Contact Us

Services for...