This is the "Getting Started" page of the "African Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Studies   Tags: african  

The Duke University African Studies collection supports scholarly activities over a broad range of disciplines and topics that address contemporary African issues.
Last Updated: May 1, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/africa Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using Our Collections

ACCESS: Though these guides can be used by anyone on the web, many of the resources they link to are available by subscription only to Duke University students, faculty and staff using a valid net ID. Members of the general public wishing to access these resources may only do so while on campus.

If you need further assistance, please contact Karen Jean Hunt, Librarian for African and African American Studies at k.j.hunt@duke.edu or 919 660-5930.

 

Starting Tips

Reference guide to Africa [electronic resource] : a bibliography of sources

This reference guide provides a one-stop source for African studies research mainly in the humanities and social sciences. It is intended for students, teachers, librarians, casual inquirers, and serious researchers who are delving into unknown territory.

Historical dictionary of international organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa

Information is provided on major international organizations of the region, with mention of some minor ones, as well as significant figures, from pioneers of Pan-Africanism to political and international civil servants who have shaped recent decisions. Lists of acronyms and abbreviations are included, as well as a selected chronology of African international organizations.

A Current bibliography on African affairs

A Current Bibliography on African Affairs is compiled as a quarterly guide for study and research in the field of African Studies and related subjects. It presents a thoughtful selection of references to a considerable diversity of materials, not only in subject and geographical selection, but also to point the user toward an increasing range of resources focusing on a sociotechnical approach to African affairs.

African books in print

Primary purpose is to provide an accurate list of books “in print” and currently available from publishers.

 

Welcome

Welcome to the Duke University Libraries subject guide for Selected African Studies Reference Resources ! Please use the tabs above to find information for your research and interest. If you have any questions or comments about this guide please let me know!

 

For North Africa, see Middle Eastern Studies

African Studies in the Duke University Libraries covers the histories, politics, and cultures of peoples of African origin both in African and the African diaspora.  

Quick Links

  • Africa-Wide NiPAD
    Africa-Wide provides comprehensive, multidisciplinary information which documents research and publications by Africans and about Africa. Africa-Wide covers close to 4 million news articles, scholarly publications articles, books, reports, theses, citations, and grey literature. Records include article abstracts and some full text with keyword indexing to enhance relevant retrieval. The coverage is comprehensive from the 18th century to current and dates back to the 16th century.
  • AfricaBib.org
    The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.
  • AllAfrica.com - Africa News Online
    The Internet's largest content sites, posting over 1000 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in our searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997)
  • Aluka. Struggles for freedom in Southern Africa [electronic resource]
    At present, the Collection consists of more than 180 000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Karen Jean Hunt
Logo - Google TalkLogo - SkypeLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Reference Department
Perkins Library
919-660-5930
k.j.hunt@duke.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip