Local resources
The Duke Global Health Institute (DGHI) facilitates interdisciplinary research, education, policy, and service in global health by working closely with all nine schools at Duke (undergraduate, graduate and professional). See below for useful links to information about global health at Duke University.
Global Health Fieldwork: For information and resources about doing fieldwork in Global Health, use this LibGuide.
Health Disparities: For information and resources about health disparities, use this LibGuide.
Burden of Disease: For information and resources about the burden of disease, use this LibGuide.
Duke Medical Center Library: Clinical materials to support global health can be found at the Medical Center Library. Megan von Isenburg is the Medical Library's liaison to Global Health. The Med Library's Global Health Toolkit can be found here.
UNC Health Sciences Library: The Health Sciences Library (HSL) at UNC also has global health resources, including guides for global health and global health data.
You can take the free Robertson Scholars Bus from Duke's West Campus to UNC, and use the HSL. Books located at the HSL can be sent to Duke for your use.
Introduction to Global Health Research
WELCOME!
The sources compiled in this guide offer an entry point into the study of Global Health at Duke University.
What is Global Health?
Global Health is a field of study, research, and practice that places a
priority on achieving equity in health for all people. Global Health
involves multiple disciplines within and beyond the health sciences. The field synthesizes population-based prevention with individual-level
clinical care. The field is notable for promoting interdisciplinary collaboration with an emphasis on
transnational health issues and determinants. Please explore this guide to find out more about the resources available at Duke Libraries.
Finding Background Information

- World Health OrganizationUse the "Health Topics," "Countries," and "Data and Statistics" tabs to locate background information.
- Encyclopedia of Global Health [electronic resource]You will need to click "Full Text" and enter your Net ID and password to access the complete encyclopedia online.
- Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior [electronic resource]A reference source for the field of health and behavior, which studies the "interaction of behavioral, psychological, emotional, social, cultural, and biological factors with physical health outcomes".
- Encyclopedia of Health Services Research [electronic resource]The first, and one of the largest, single works ever published on health services research, "the study of the accessibility, costs, quality, and outcomes of healthcare".
- Global AIDS Crisis: A Reference Handbook [electronic resource]Presents an overview of the worldwide HIV epidemic, comparing experiences of and responses to HIV and AIDS across nations.
- Kaiser EDU Issue Modules: Global HealthPart of Kaiser EDU's website which offers lists of resources on broad health policy topics, such as HIV/AIDS, insurance, and immigrants' access to care.
- World Poverty: A Reference Handbook [electronic resource]
- Research ToolsFrom kaiser.edu. Includes links to literature search information, data sources, and websites of global health organizations.
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Global Health |
Topic Map
What is a topic map?
Topic maps help you begin to think about your topic and create a search strategy. They include the key concepts associated with your topic and alternative terminology for these concepts.
Why use a topic map?
The topic map provides you with the opportunity to think of your topic in new ways.
What does a topic map include?
The main topic idea in the center of the map with other aspects of your topic surrounding it (your keywords).
Alternative terminology (keywords) to describe your topic should be included for each keyword.








Loading...
