Skip to main content

Outdoor Advertising Collections Guide: Introduction

Outdoor Advertising Collections in the Hartman Center

Introduction to Outdoor Advertising Collections

The Outdoor Advertising collections document many diverse topics, including the creative, technological, financial and legislative aspects of the outdoor industry; billboard architecture; public service campaigns; highway beautification efforts; retail selling; and market research. They include materials from outdoor companies, trade organizations, the personal collections of various executives and creative people who worked in the industry, and related books and periodicals. A number of these collections were processed through a generous grant awarded to Duke by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

See also: Outdoor Advertising Collections FAQ

This guide is divided into four subcategories of outdoor advertising related materials: organizational papers, professional papers, trade literature and digital collections.

Agency and Organizational Papers:  The agency and organizational papers include the records of local, regional, and national outdoor advertising agencies and professional organizations, including the records of the Outdoor Advertising Association of America, the primary professional organization of the outdoor industry throughout its history.  

Professional Papers:  The professional papers document individual careers in the outdoor advertising business.  Collections include records and papers, artwork, reports, scrapbooks and photo albums.

Print Material: Print material includes trade and prescriptive literature marketed to outdoor advertising professionals as well as selected secondary source titles on outdoor advertising. 

Digital Collections: The library has several digital collections of outdoor advertising materials comprising nearly 100,000 images.

 

Your Librarian

Josh Larkin Rowley
Contact:
Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library
919-660-5833