"There was a young woman who swallowed a lie..."
Illustrated satirical poem by Meredith Tax
From the Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement Digital Collection
Also available in print: Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Archives, box 12
From the Miss America Protests, 1968 and 1969 Digital Collection
Primary sources are first-hand accounts of an event. Primary sources are wide-ranging and include newspaper articles (from the time period that an event took place), letters, diaries, interviews, laws, reports of government commissions, and many other types of documents.
Duke University Libraries has a wealth of primary source databases as well as special collections manuscript materials housed in the Rubenstein Library. The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History & Culture, housed in the Rubenstein Library, acquires and preserves published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women throughout history. The Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History collections promote understanding of the social, cultural and historical impact of advertising, marketing and sales.
These research guides highlight many of the Bingham Center's print, manuscript and multimedia holdings related to these topics but are not comprehensive listings of our collections. All Bingham Center materials are included in the Duke University Libraries online catalog.
The Sixties: primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974 - includes sections on the Sexual Revolution and the Women's Movement during this time period in America.
Everyday life & women in America c.1820-1900 - this digital collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of print materials addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000 - Bbowsable by social movement, project question, author, document genre (advertisement, diary, etc), and subject. Searchable by detailed fields such as nationality, occupation, date, organizations or people discussed, ancestry, and keyword.
Picture Post - British popular magazine heavily illustrated. Great research tool, limits to articles with images, etc.
Historic American Sheet Music - Image-rich, keyword searchable of American printed music covers
Advertising collections - Digitized advertisements from several Duke collections curated by the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History.
America's Historical Newspapers - search U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Harper's Weekly - published from 1857 to 1912, this was a popular and influential magazine in the United States; complete runs of Harper's Weekly (1857-1916) are also available in Special Collections and Perkins Newspaper and Microforms.
Lexis/Nexis Academic - newspaper articles from the late 1980s onward (depending on the newspaper). Separate search for European dailies is also excellent.
America's Newspapers - search American newspapers by region of the country or individual newspaper.
In addition to the rich archives in the Rubenstein Library (special collections), check out the long print-runs Duke Libraries have of these journals.
Vogue Magazine - Lilly Library
National Geographic - Lilly Library
Vibe - Lilly Library
