Skip to main content

Women and Artistic Expression: Getting Started

Want to Find More?

The Sallie Bingham Center at the Rubenstein Library also holds many printed materials (e.g. books and magazines) on these topics. You can search the holdings of the Rubenstein Library here.

Suggested catalog search terms include:

Artists’ books. 
Feminism and art.
Feminist art criticism. 
Feminism and literature. 
Feminist literature. 
Feminist literary criticism. 
Lesbian artists. 
Needlework. 
Poetry. 
Quilting. 
Women artists. 
Women authors. 
Women -- Comic books, strips, etc. 
Women performance artists. 
Women publishers. 
Women’s music.

Introduction

This guide includes a selection of personal papers and organizational records relating to women and artistic expression held by the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at the Rubenstein Library.

  • Literary Arts- This tab lists collections of personal papers of women writers and literary organizations such as presses and magazines.
  • Visual Arts- This tab lists the papers of visual artists including painters, photographers, and book artists.
  • Performing Arts- This tab includes materials related to women's music and theater.

Related Collections

Artists' Books by Women

The Bingham Center has a collection of about 200 artists' books by women about gender, sexuality, and other women's issues. Artists' books are original works of art that explore the structure and meaning of the book as a form.

crackers

Women’s Zines Collections

The Bingham Center has an extensive collection of zines by women and girls, and the searchable database offers the following related subject terms: Music, comics, poetry, literary, visual arts, and performing arts.

Your Librarian

Kelly Wooten
Contact:
Reference Librarian, Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture;
Librarian for Sexuality Studies

Office: Rubenstein Library
Email: kelly.wooten@duke.edu
Phone: 919-660-5967
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Social Sciences