Skip to main content

British History in the Rubenstein Library: Getting Started

Collection Guides/ Finding Aids

In general, an advanced catalog search using various terms relating to British history in the subject field, limiting to location="Special Collections" will return catalog records for most of the library’s holdings in this area. In addition, a number of collections in this area have searchable finding aids

Special Collections Contact Information

For general information about finding materials in the library's collections and how you can use them, requesting permission to reproduce, or other information as well as reference questions about the holdings in this area:

E-mail: special-collections@duke.edu
Phone: (919) 660-5822
FAX: (919) 660-5934

Overview

  The holdings in this area focus in general on British History and more specifically on the British Commonwealth and colonial history.     Manuscript holdings from Great Britain and the British colonies/Commonwealth date from the late eighteenth to the early twentieth centuries. They represent many aspects of British life, including political, military, diplomatic, economic, social, and naval affairs. Printed materials include political tracts from the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, and almanacs, travel accounts, trade directories, military manuals, and maps from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Also includes British materials relating to religion and literature.

Note that this guide does not include all the British holdings - you should also consult the catalog and the staff in Rubensteing Library.

Collection Policies

Current collecting emphasis is on British contacts with North and South America, to British associations with South Asia, Africa and the African diaspora, especially African Americans, and to British women.

Related Guides

British and Irish Studies
Guide to resources for British and Irish Studies in Perkins Library.

British Parliamentary Papers
Guide to finding Parliamentary Papers in Duke libraries and on the Web.

British Empire
Library resources for research on the British Empire.

English Literature

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu