Theater StudiesFilm & Video ResourcesLinguisticsArea Studies & CulturesBritish & Irish StudiesMedieval & Renaissance StudiesNew & Noteworthy CollectionWomen's Studies
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Literature in English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/literature Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Background Information and Reference Works

Literature Resource Center best searched by author, great source of biographical and critical info

Oxford Reference Online  Oxford subject encyclopedias; search authors, terms, works

Cambridge Collections Online subject encyclopedias from Cambridge

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism definitions of terms, theoretical approaches, and more

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) THE dictionary of English

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry locate a poem by author, title, first line, last line, subject

 

New Literature Titles

For current fiction titles, see
the New & Noteworthy Collection.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Finding Literary Criticism: Articles

Literature Criticism Online a compendium of critical essays from classical to contemporary periods, good coverage of "canonical" works and authors

MLA International Bibliography core literature database, indexes articles and books

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature  UK literature database, full text searching

Humanities International Complete good coverage of literature and other humanities sources

ProQuest click tab at top of results list to limit to scholarly sources

Project Muse (current) and JSTOR (historical issues) full-text collections of core scholarly journals in all fields

Periodicals Index Online particularly good coverage of 19th century criticism

FRANCIS European and world literature

 

Finding Literary Criticism: Books

In the catalog, try a subject heading search for "author's name and criticism" without the quotes.  (See for example Subject Heading morrison criticism.)  Books written on specific works will have their own subheading (Subject Heading Faulkner, William, 1897-1962. Light in August.). 

You might also check to see if a bibliography has been published on the author you're researching.  To find these, try "author's name and bibliography" as a keyword search (james joyce bibliography).

The MLA Bibliography and ABELL also include listings for book-length critical works. Use the get it @ duke button to search our catalog for these titles.

 

Finding Book Reviews

Book reviews appear immediately after a book's initial publication, and anytime up to several years after that.

For Reviews of Trade/Popular and Academic Publications

Proquest, Academic Search Complete, and Academic OneFile current coverage of multidisciplinary journals, magazines and newspapers

Book Review Index (1965-now)

Book Review Digest (1983-now) and Book Review Digest Retrospective (1905-1982)

Public Books

America's Newspapers and Lexis/Nexis Academic current newspaper reviews and author interviews

Literature Resource Center reviews in journals, see also "further reading" sections in author entries

Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) scholarly and general interest periodicals

For Reviews of Academic Publications

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920-now)

Project Muse (current) and JSTOR (historical issues)

H-Net Reviews (1995-now)

Web of Science (1975-now for Arts & Humanities)

World Shakespeare Bibliography (1977-1 year ago)

Literature & Theater Librarian

Profile Image
Sara Seten Berghausen
Contact Info
233 Perkins Library
919-660-5881

OFFICE HOURS
Wednesdays 3-5pm, 328 Allen
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip