Search for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and other aspects of literary studies
Search etymology for every word in the English language
Search across 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries
Search across the full text of 250,000 poems and 450,000 citations. Locate poems by author, title, first line, last line, subject
Search for definitions and information related to the regional aspects of the English language. Includes audio clips and quotations from the DARE Survey conducted 1965-1970
Contains plays from the earliest Greek works through the present day, in text, video, and audio formats. Includes background and contextual works on playwrights, theater movements, genres, practitioners and periods, as well as scholarly monographs, dictionary content, and practical books on acting and stage craft.
Duke has access to the following modules:
--Aurora Metro Books Collection 1
--Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection
--Core Collection
--Critical Studies and Performance Practice
--Global Plays Collection 1
--The Hollow Crown
--National Theatre Collection 1, 2, 3
--Nick Hern Books Modern Plays
--Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) Live Collection
--Shakespeare Video Collection
--Shakespeare's Globe on Screen
--Shakespeare’s Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1 & 2
--Shakespeare’s Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 3
--Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection 1 & 2
--Theatre Communications Group (TCG) Books Play Collection
Search across the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, and hundreds of adaptations from the seventeenth to nineteenth centuries.
Searches essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works
Find poems written by both American and British authors between 1900-1999
Search a digital repository of major research libraries. This is an open access database.
Search for journal articles in the humanities, fine arts, and performance arts
Search for entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods
Find information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines.
Search a directory of the book publishing industry, including publishers, literary agents, and trade services.
Search for publication information for a large list of journals.
Resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources. Guide to grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language. Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects.
The New Play Exchange, a National New Play Network project, is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers.
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
Search for images and articles related to the Modernist period
Search for bibliographic records of short stories written in or translated into English
Search for scholarship related to the study of Shakespeare. Includes annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, and audiovisual materials
