LibGuides: Literature in English: Criticism, Theory, Methodology

Background Information and Reference Works

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
Search for entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods
Oxford Bibliographies: Literary and Critical Theory This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on topics related to Literary and Critical Theory.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Search for biographical articles on the lives, works, and careers of literary figures from all eras and genres
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Search etymology for every word in the English language
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedia and dictionary entries on wide range of academic disciplines

Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
a compendium of critical essays from classical to contemporary periods, good coverage of "canonical" works
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
core literature database, indexes articles and books
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
UK literature database, full text searching

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research